Last week’s track workout

The rain has done it again! My running group’s track workout was cancelled due to the unpredictable downpours/thunder/wind that has graced us with its presence…for three days so far. I took a look at the weather report and it seems to be like this for the next couple days, then a little sunshine this weekend (read: RUN OUTSIDE FINALLY!) then back to rain…Sigh. Rainy season esta aqui.

With that being said, I took the track workout and brought it to the dare I say…treadmill. Since I hadn’t a chance to check out the exact workout online, I decided to re-do last week’s track workout. A little rewind for ya…

My IT band flared up a week after my marathon in December. As a result, I had to take more time off than I anticipated from running and give it some time to stretch and strengthen. This was SUPER difficult for me especially since I rely on running as an outlet. I have eased back into running since the new year and last week was my first track workout since before my race. When I went to the track last week, I decided to modify the workout so as not to aggravate my IT too much.

So, today I felt better about doing the track workout that was planned for last week. Here it was:

  • 800 meter 10K pace, with a 400 meter recovery x 6.

Holy cow. Since I used the treadmill, I translated it into:

  • 0.50 mile at 10K pace with 0.25 mile recovery x6.

According to my half marathon time, my running coach calculated my 10k pace as 9:36 min/mile, which translated to a “6.4” ish on the treadmill. So I decided to increase it each round 6.4,6.5,6.6,6.7,6.8, and then 7.0! I was a sweaty mess…but, my playlist rocked so it kept me going.

Now, onto stretching, icing, and foam rolling my legs…and making some yellow curry tofu for din! Keep dry.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Last week’s track workout

  1. Annamarina says:

    Yay! So glad to see you started a blog! I look forward to reading more. πŸ™‚

  2. aron says:

    YAY glad i found your blog now πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: My new love(s) « Running on Faith

Leave a Reply

