Happy Birthday Madre

Happy Birthday Mom! (I only have pictures of Michael’s graduation on this computer…so consider yourself lucky for avoiding some blackmail photos, wait where’s my phone!! I wonder if I have dad reading the fortune cookie).


Remember that one time when I wanted to participate in Nike Women’s Marathon?? Thanks for supporting my crazy ideas (and even getting yourself caught up into them too). Look how far they’ve come. (or how far I’ve gone…)

Story of my shoes: Part deux.

I went back to the local running store and proceeded to talk to shoe salesman numero uno (quite cute actually!) about my predicament. That was until shoe salesman from friday (not as cute, nor young) spotted me and asked me how they worked out. He got what he asked for – a play by play of what was bothering me about the sneakers. Then he saw the part I feared: my bloooddyy toespot! We realized that where the sneaker broke, the plastic was rubbing against the top of my toe. 😦 not good.

He, being the awesome person that is he, sat with me and we tried out different options until I was satisfied. (Another reason why Mom rocks – she knows what it’s like to be with me until I pick something out!) I walked out of the store with the Asics Gel-DS trainer 15. We will see how these work out!

(Disclaimer: sensitive content) Tonight I went to Church for the first time in months (not including Christmas). I really needed it. I mean, I have needed it for months, but I was being stubborn. In reality, I have spent the last three months filling/seeking that which gives fleeting support or satisfaction.

On a very personal note, since my uncle passed away on Halloween last year, I found it very difficult to bring myself to church. Instead, there has been a delay with working through some of those emotions. I understand that there is a process and with this process, one needs to build on those positive relationships for support including the one I have with God, which I have neglected. This is the first step in a positive direction.

And that is me sharing in complete honesty.

Let’s leave things on a more positive note tonight! I am winding down the night, going to watch some Grammy’s (!!) then have a date…with my foam roller (wouldn’t we all hope that it was with the cute shoe salesman earlier 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Birthday Madre

  1. Deborah says:

    I totally get the not wanting to go to church thing. I have actually been going every Sunday and just going through the motions. I too just had one of those days where I really felt like I needed to get some things in check with God. Glad you had a good night.

  2. kbwood says:

    wow, proud of you for the church thing. that is awesome, sometimes we need to be broken for God to pull us back in. i have no doubt you will get it all back asap!

  3. Karla says:

    Happy Birthday to your mama!

Leave a Reply

