One for Two.

My runs this weekend are one for two.  It just was not my day. Our group planned a mini-clinic on Hills (how to handle them, form, etc.). I became a bit anxious while listening, because I knew that so far in my training, my IT hurt the most going up or down hills. After some talk and demonstration, it was our turn. I took them easy, but even as easy as it seemed, a little over 2 miles into the run I knew I could feel the effects of them. Sigh.

I was only planning on a 5 miler today. So once my IT started hurting, I stopped and stretched in prep for turning around and returning. BUT as I was stretching, I looked down at my shoe and realized that my toe was bleeding (sorry, gross ew, I know). Yesterday, my new sneaks pulled the “new shoe” feel and as I have in the past, it is just my body adjusting and working with the shoe. Things usually feel amazing in the next couple runs, but I’ve never had it get to that point where I had blisters and eww.

So between my leg hurting and my toe doing its thing (still ew.) I was really distracted and played the negative card for the rest of my run. In retrospect, things like this happen and not every run will leave me feeling rejuvenated. I regret that I had that thought process for my return.

I am planning on going back to the store and see what the best option would be. I’ll talk more about it later.

  • 4.5 mile, 44:00 mins – 9:46 pace

On a much more positive note, I made a spectacular berry smoothie when I got home! I haven’t made a smoothie in awhile. During the summer, these were my staple post workout refuel! I am happy to say that I got my protein powder (thank you paycheck) and the goodies to throw together.

Maybe next time my run goes awry, I should think of my smoothie? Plans for the day: RELAX and get a little bit of school work done, errands, stretching, mass…a good Sunday.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One for Two.

  1. Karla says:

    On no! Sorry to hear about your bloody toe! No fun!

    Ugh hate IT band pain! Foam rollers save my life!

  2. ginamastrog says:

    Hey, girl! Thanks for stopping by and for the nice comment. 🙂 You’re living my dream out in California – soo jealous of the gorgeousness you get to live in!

    Sorry to hear about the toe/leg, hope that both feel less icky soon!

Leave a Reply

