Great things.

Again, welcome to those who are finding this blog for the first time!!

Last night, I spent a good 40 minutes listening to this podcast of Charlotte One which spoke about what we do versus how we do it. I found this website via Whit’s blog in the fall and occasionally visit the podcasts as a way to reflect since I have not found something like this in NorCal.

There were some timely messages that I reflected upon last night. One was being that we have all these ideas, but what we do is not necessarily important as how we do them and why we are doing them. The gentleman, Jarrett Stevens, caused me to really think hard about how I go about my work day, how I form my relationships, how I repair broken ones, and how I view myself (to name a few).

Needless to say, it gave me some wonderful messages to work with, incorporate, and live throughout each day.  To sum things up, he used a Mother Teresa quote which I heard (and was inspired with) in high school and college, and it was

“In this life we cannot do great things. We can only do small things with great love.”

So very true. And the timing was impeccable. Right after I finished listening to this, I got word that I one of the jobs I was hoping on for the summer wasn’t going to work out (read: rejection, but the other way sounds better to me). Immediately, I was testing the message which I had heard. Instead of focusing on the negative (since I have no control over this), I gotta focus on some other opportunities that are available since this frees me up for the summer! For example, I would not have been able to run the SF half marathon!

Even though it is easier to type it out, my rest was NOT sound last night. I woke up occasionally including a stint that lasted from 2 to  4 am. My mind was running. (Pun intended). As a result, I decided to move what I was going to do in the morning to when I got back from the gym tonight.

Have a great Tuesday! Mine will be spent in anticipation about tonight’s LOST premiere.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Great things.

  1. BostonRunner says:

    Hi Kerry! I just found your blog from your guest post! Love your blog!
    I always have a hard time focusing on the positive too when it’s something like that, but I’m sure it all will work out!

  2. way to keep a positive outlook. sometimes staying optimistic is the best way to keep good vibes coming to you. LOST = amazing, so enjoy it 🙂

  3. kbwood says:

    sorry you didnt have a good nights rest girl! prayers for good sleep tonight!

  4. First of all, thanks for commenting on my blog! And I’m so glad I found yours, it’s really awesome!
    And you are so very right. We must try to focus on the positives. It’s so easy to get bogged down the negative. But there is always, always a bright side to everything, even if it takes a while to see it. And how exciting that you will be able to run the race!!

Leave a Reply

