Wet track

I am not sure what zip code I entered when I checked the weather report at work (I am super curious and will see tomorrow if it kept the history), but the weather was anything BUT partly sunny. Gahh

As soon as I got on the highway after work, it started to sprinkle. I was like “hmm okay okay.” After parking and walking down to the track, it started to get a little heavier, but I figured that I had enough layers and it was only a recovery run, so I should be fine. I started out with an easy warm-up and some key stretches, especially focusing on the hips!

[Confession: This morning I woke up at around 4am with major IT pain. I knew then that last night I should have focused more attention on stretching and icing. When I actually woke up for the day, I knew the routine I needed to do! Rolled, stretched, iced, and popped some Ibuprofen before work. During the school day, I paid attention to how I was standing and sitting so as not to aggravate it more. By the end of the day, it felt much better. I always had in the back of my mind that I would play the run by ear and if it was too much, then accept it and stop.]

But that didn’t happen. The run, even with the rain, was successful and quite pleasant. It reminded me very much of my run from Saturday in the rain. I put my garmin under my long sleeve shirt and was QUITE surprised at the end when I saw that my pace was under 9:30 for a RECOVERY. Woopsie. But I felt great! Breathing was on and my legs were on it. Next recovery, I will be a bit more aware of my pace.  But I got to say that I guess it is a really good sign if I didn’t feel like I was going that fast a pace for me 🙂

  • 4.62 – 43:43 – 9:27 pace

When I got home, I made a smoothie!

Such a photogenic smoothie. I may or may not have OD’ed on some dried sliced mango from TJ’s, too. My appetite is back and bettah than evah. Then again, tallying up the runs in the past 3 days, I’ve done about 20 miles SO that can explain it! I made a great Quorn “chick’n” sandwich with an arnold thin, avocado, and bbq sauce. Also some steamed broccoli was on the menu. I bought an acorn squash at the market yesterday and I am not quite sure what to do with it! Any suggestions?

Sigh, where did the day go? I am planning on sipping on some Throat Coat by Traditional Medicinals – definitely worth a try!! The aftertaste is what makes the tea so, so addicting!

I know it is hard to read, but the tag says “Your choices will change the world.” Point very well taken.

Hope you have had a good Monday! This week *should* be pretty low-key, with a couple great workouts thrown in there. I don’t think I have much scheduled after school besides what is on my training plan. Speaking of which, tomorrow is cross training day!

Time to get everything together for tomorrow, then crash on the couch with a handful or two of semi-sweet choc chips 🙂

    This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

    6 Responses to Wet track

    1. Karla says:

      I was confused when you commented recommending Organic Throat Coat! But then I saw it at Target and understood. It’s now added to my list of teas to try!
      Hope your IT band gets better! Keep rollin’!

    2. Tina says:

      Good job paying attention to your body and being proactive to keep your IT from hurting worse. 🙂 I can be so bad at stretching, so I understand the discipline it takes to be cautious of it.

      And what a cool quote. Reminds me of Ghandi’s “be the change you want to see in the world” quote. 🙂

    3. Mom says:

      I saw a few recipes for the acorn squash here that I thought you might like: http://allrecipes.com/recipes/Fruits-and-Vegetables/Vegetables-N-Z/Squash/Winter-Squash/Acorn-Squash/Main.aspx . Check it out.

    4. Congrats on the great run!!!! And 20 miles… wow girl, my appetite would be out of control!! When I was running like that, i was hungry 24/7 (not that I minded…)

      “Your choices will change the world”- LOVE that! And so very true.

    Leave a Reply

    