Cross trainin’ blues

I really have to step up my game on cross training days! It seems I resort to going through the motions then actually setting out on a game plan like I do with running! I think I’ve found myself a little motivation and that is to spice up those cross training days with things that will challenge me (like running has) and get my heart rate up! There are some classes in my gym, but it would take a lot for me to work my schedule around them. We shall see.

…I also think I am in denial about putting Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred back in my DVD player. I feel like somewhere out there she knows that I haven’t gone through that workout for awhile. Now that my leg is up to the lunges and squats that she has me doing, it is quite possible that you will see me doing that workout in the near future 🙂

Back to the morning, I was inspired to make some Pb&J Banana oats!

Stovetop oats, water, milk, vanilla extract, and 1/2 a banana  w/ a scoop of pb and my new raspberry preserves!! So good. Great way to start off my morning.

After school, I went to the gym and did a 40 min interval elliptical workout. (I could have DEF pushed it more on the elliptical, for sure). Then I did a lower body circuit using the weight machines, then some lunges and squats on my own.

It was the first time in awhile that I ventured out into the weights section. I have read a few blogs that have had comments about how to get started doing a certain activity – this applied to me today. Since I hadn’t been back there doing the weight machines in what seemed like forever, I just eyed a couple machines and then went there like I was on a mission – a mission to look like I knew what I was going to do! I used the time that I was doing my reps to figure out the next steps. Before I knew it, I was done! Mission of not looking foolish: Accomplished! How do you approach a new fitness activity?

Dinner was on my mind on my way home. I got a few new ideas for the acorn squash, but that wasn’t on the agenda for tonight’s dinnah. (Thanks, Mom) I will probably cook it Thursday. Instead, dinner was some super lovely broccoli and peppers with quorn chick’n stirfry and some brown rice!

There was some brown rice underneath, I promise! Now, I need to put my chocolate chips away before I eat my weight in them! I will save my dessert time for some LOST at 9pm! I have mucho to do before that comes on 🙂 Have a wonderful evening.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cross trainin’ blues

  1. i’m always a bit lackluster with xt too. it just doesn’t give me the same stuff as running so i either disregard it completely or half-ass it. must. do. better. haha

    and hope you enjoyed lost! it was sooo amazing tonight!!

  2. Deborah says:

    Shut up, I love Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred. I laughed when my sister gave it to me but man it kicked my butt. I have been trying some cross training lately and might need to add that back in. Thanks for the reminder.

  3. That’s a good technique with the weights… I may try that! I never want to look like some crazy girl not knowing what she’s doing compared to all these big huge men.. intimidating!!!

  4. Jill says:

    I usually drag a friend along to show me how to use a new machine etc. or get a personal trainer/or someone from the gym to show me the right way to do it.

  5. BostonRunner says:

    I tend not to push it on cross training too..it’s just so much harder to find motivation to go hard. Where as running I feel like you can’t slack off.
    The huge men are intimidating, but I really don’t even notice them anymore. I do my thing, they do their thing. I realized I probably think they are paying more attention to what I can/can’t do than they really are, you know?
    When I start a new activity I just try to cut myself some slack, I know I’m not going to be perfect the first time I do something so I just try to do a short session of whatever it is to feel it out and then the next time now that I know what to expect I’m more comfortable (I’m thinking of like yoga here..).

  6. Pingback: Kerry (1) – Erg (0) « Running on Faith

Leave a Reply

