Valentine’s Day 10k

Today was my FIRST 10k EVER, so naturally a PR – WOO.

And I think it is very timely to say that I am in love with them. Better yet, I heart 10ks.

More about those bad boys in a bit.

Yesterday, I decided on the Valentine’s Day 10k! I was in bed early and was up and ready to go around 6:45. I arrived in Campbell, CA around 7:45 to register. They had a 5k and 10k. The 10k started 15 minutes after the 5k. I had a good chunk of time to myself to warm up, stretch, look like I’m doing something important…you know.

There were TONS of people, so I was very surprised with its popularity. There had to be around 800 people!

The race started and we were off. Well, until the bottlenecking really took a good 0.75 miles to spread apart. The course was a small two lane bike path that still had people coming the opposite direction occasionally. It was an out and back course.

Mile 1: 9:18 – Feeling great. Dodging people, being dodged myself. Finding a rhythm

Mile 2: 9:43 – 3 sets of hills. Nothing too steep, but enough to throw the pace off a bit. I was also REALLY conscious about handling the hills correctly. Two weeks ago it was a similar set of hills that set my IT off.

Mile 3 & 4: 9:25 – Settling in. I thought the way back was exactly like the way out but then they had to add a 0.2 of what was more like a dirt trail.

Mile 5 & 6 – 9:20 – Knew I could hold it under 9:30 for the rest of the way after I passed the hills around 5. I found a girl and a guy to pace with for the rest of the way

0.2 – 7:15 pace – I kicked it up for the end. 🙂

Overall: 58:03, 6.2 miles – 9:24 pace.

The pace gives me a lot to work with and I have to keep reminding myself what I have had to do in the past few weeks to build up the mileage injury free. As a result, training for anything was never a goal of mine the last few weeks. The numbers are encouraging for me and are much more accurate of my current abilities. I can finally accept the pace ranges that the pace and VDOT calculator are giving me for different workouts. I plan on using those numbers for my workouts and then reevaluate after another 10k that I am planning on in early March.

Um. BACK to those DOUGHNUTS. After the race, I sorta wandered around trying to find water. I heard “free raffle” and was like “Sure”. After finishing wandering, I was on the lawn stretching when I hear 4-0-5. Is 4-0-5 here? I had my music on, but in between songs, I heard the numbers. I got up and was like YES! Then they handed me these. I am pretty sure they are 6 of the 7 deadly sins

Those are SO Nutterbutters on top. The one at the beginning of the post had strawberries and special K.

The assortment is SO cute and trust me, I enjoyed a piece of the pb one and it was amazing. There is a s’more one and kix one, too. The place that makes them are called Psycho Donuts and I guess they are a big thing in Campbell. I will bring the rest to a Valentine’s Day party that I am going to later this weekend. Those doughnuts cannot be trusted in my apt!

I am not sure what the rest of the day brings me! I would be completely content with just vegging out since the day has been GREAT already. But, it is sunny and I can’t let that go to waste 🙂 Have a good one. Gotta stretch…

This entry was posted in Race Recaps and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Valentine’s Day 10k

  1. Tina says:

    Congrats on your first 10K!!! How awesome! Just like those heart donut things look 😉

  2. amazing job in the 10k! sounds like a decently challenging course with those hills but you totally owned them 🙂

    and congrats on those donuts. very cute indeed

  3. Karla says:

    Congratulations!!!
    Great job!!

  4. Lacey says:

    hi Kerry!!!!! congrats on the

  5. Lacey says:

    lol apparently hitting ctrl submitted my comment… ooops….

    HI! heh. as i was saying- congrats on the 10k!!!! thanks for commenting on my blog. i just read through your about me and running journey and we have a lot in common!!! i’m going to add you to my subscription list so i can follow along.

    also– niiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiice score on the raffle. i never win those things! and those are some pretty awesome looking doughnuts. i laughed the “deadly sins” comment. hilarious. happy valentine’s day!

  6. Congratulations girlie!!!! That is such an accomplishment! And doing it injury free… now that’s fantastic news. And the donuts…OMG. They look a-mazing!!!

  7. jenna says:

    hey!
    i just came across your blog and i can’t wait to keep reading!
    i would love it if you could check out mine and follow 🙂
    jenna

  8. BostonRunner says:

    Congrats on your first 10k! You did great!! Those heart donuts look amazing/really well decorated!

  9. sarah says:

    You ran a great race! And automatic PRs are delightful. Also, those are probably (and I’m not exaggerating) the most ridiculous donuts I’ve ever seen. California just knows how to do donuts.

  10. Pingback: Editing Running Memories | Running on Faith

Leave a Reply

