Isn’t it ironic?

Cue Alanis.

Food coma. Overload of FOOD. Last night’s valentine’s day dinner party was FRENCH LAUNDRY themed – something along the lines of a nine course tasting experience. There were so many amazing options and the cooks did a wonderful job. Needless to say, I went to bed stuffed as if it was Thanksgiving.

Today we have OFF. I decided to get some more immediate work for the week done before my run. This would allow for me to do some more errands and just “sort of” do work later 🙂 On today’s agenda was a tempo run! I took the advice of switching the tempo run to spread out the hard workouts and allow recovery.

But first, I recovered my stats until the battery died. We did ten, but these were the first 7.5.

  • 7.5 miles, 1:17:13 – 10:19/mile

Seemed about right since we did slow it down a tad for the remaining 2.5.

Now check this out. Today’s tempo was completed 0.1 miles short of hitting 6.2 and if I did, I would have beaten my 10k time from Saturday. HA. It is okay to laugh. It is also okay to laugh at why I didn’t go the last 0.1 miles to beat the time. I pounded out the last bit of the run until I reached my car. When I turned off my watch and saw the numbers, I was like “What the hell!” Here’s a breakdown of the run. I did a 1 mile warm up, 2 mile tempo, 1 mile easy, 2 mile tempo. The 1 mile easy helped SO much to break it up into more like 2 5ks.

  • Mile 1- 9:59 pace
  • Mile 2 – 8:50 pace
  • Mile 3 – 9:14 pace
  • Mile 4 – 10:09 pace
  • Mile 5 – 9:07 pace
  • Mile 6 and 1/10th -9:10 pace

Overall – 6.1 miles, 9:24 pace (what my pace was on Saturday…such irony!)

So my thoughts: bring on the next 10k! Having done one now and the mindset and the strategy I need, it really helps me focus and target my running for the next few weeks.

After the run, I went to the grocery store. Bad idea to do so! Everything was 10x as appealing. But I tried to resist as much as I could. I let my splurges go to the fruit instead of the choc chips haha. I got some MANGO (fresh and frozen). The frozen ones are currently a part of my recovery smoothie that is accompanying me as I type. It’s a match made in heaven.

After a lot of advice, I decided to purchase the book Run less, Run faster which I cannot wait to get new ideas and workouts from! I am going to devote part of my afternoon to reading through it. I’m sure you’ll hear me referencing it a bunch in the upcoming weeks!

I am thinking about some yoga tonight…calves are TIGHT. Catch you later.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Isn’t it ironic?

  1. kbwood says:

    GREAT job girl!! that is AWESOME!!!

    hahahah i bet you were buying everything in sight!! i would have!

    you are awesome!! get that yoga!! love how it makes you feel!

  2. I’ve heard that’s a great book! Mango = awesomeness 🙂

  3. great job with the tempo. looks like youre due for a rematch with that 10k 🙂

  4. Melissa S. says:

    great job on the run! sounds like you’ll have a great 10k when you run one!

  5. Lacey says:

    i love run less run faster. i’m all about the 3 quality workouts. i get sucked in to extra runs but i try to make sure i hit the 3 key workouts every week.

    and heck yeahh you need to run another 10k!

  6. BostonRunner says:

    Oh, I love new books! I haven’t heard of that one, let me know how it is!
    Great job with the runs!

Leave a Reply

