Kerry (1) – Erg (0)

After my cross training experience last week, I was looking for a change! Last year when I started to pack a bag and go to the gym after teaching, I would sometimes end my workout with a 2k on the erg. This usually sealed the deal for exhaustion.

After tearing though Run Less, Run Faster yesterday afternoon, they suggested your cross training workout either to be cycling, swimming, or rowing, as they target your running muscles in a different way, or strengthen muscles not predominately used in running. Sadly, they did not recommend the elliptical as the best cross training exercise for runners because it somewhat replicates the running motion. (It’s okay. I still don’t mind an intense elliptical workout.) They gave example rowing workouts so I used that as inspiration for my workout today.

Since I am not a rower, I don’t even know how to phrase what I am about to say. I apologize if I butcher this. OK. I did 5000m – 5 min warm up, 1 min hard, 1 min easy, 2 min hard, 1 min easy, 3 min hard, 1 min easy…then back down again until I finished out the 5000k with 1 min hard/1 min easy repeats. HOLY cow. I am DEF going to look up the proper form, because with any new activity, I am not sure if I am doing it correctly. With that being said, it was one helluva workout! My heart felt like I was doing track intervals, which I guess is the point 🙂 Does anyone row? Any suggestions for future erg workouts??

I also did a cycle workout on hills (I think level 12 which became pretty mighty at the top hills!). I was pretty gross.

Back to the book. I was REALLY intrigued by it and it appealed to me. It stresses 3 key running workouts – tempo, track, and lr, paired with 2 cross training days. As a fairly obsessed numbers person, I was a little weary because a lot of the advice I received was to slowly increase my weekly mileage, while this program tries to downplay the “junk miles”. (NOT saying that people with high mileages have junk miles!!) The book was stressing purpose-filled runs with an attainable pace and mileage. So I am a little torn as to what I am going to do.

So far, I already have included the 3 running workouts in my week, but I want to hold onto another easy run – making 4 runs total a week, and 2 cross training days. It’ll be nice to FOCUS my energy on those three runs (which the book nicely lays out your paces for …um…every type of distance) and to enjoy the easy/recovery run when it fits with my schedule. I will try to stick to this idea and reevaluate in a few weeks. Only time will tell what works best for me 🙂

Speaking of what works best…I am finally making my acorn squash. We shall see how this goes. The day off TOTALLY threw me for a loop today and the kiddos def had more energy than I could compete with AND lost is on tonight 🙂 The makings for a perfect vegg out sesh. Have a good night!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Kerry (1) – Erg (0)

  1. no advice on the erg as i’ve never used one! but way to get that xt in, sounds intense. i am sooooooooooooo bad about doing that

  2. Lacey says:

    i think the priciples of less/faster are great. it totally depends on what you prefer. i think that’s why there are so many different training plans/approaches out there.

    i looooooooooooove squash. acorn is so good- really sweet one of my faves.

  3. Lacey says:

    oh- and i have never done a rowing machine!!!! i can imagine that’s a major cardio workout and upper body, too.. i prefer biking b/c i feel like it helps balance my quad work (i tore my ACL in college bball, so i like to balance running with biking). i haaaaaate the ellipitcal!!! you could also try a stair climber, but that can be a lot like running esp if you do it fast.

Leave a Reply

