Racing the sunlight

I woke up in the middle of the night and realized my calves were DONZO. You can imagine the curses going on in my head. I stretched them out SO much, epsom salt bath..you name it, I did it. Well, including the obvious and doing a pretty naive move and run back to back hill workouts sans recovery. Sigh. Guess I’m all about conquering some fears. Speaking of which.

Since Lent is, well… now I have spent a lot of time thinking about what I really want to dedicate this time to. In the past, I usually find myself giving things up. However, I don’t find myself really sacrificing as much because I usually find another vice that takes its place. And since becoming a vegetarian, the abstinence part isn’t too difficult 🙂 So, the past few years, I have spent more effort taking something on or trying something new. This has ranged in the past. It took me awhile this year to figure out what needs some working on. And then it dawned on me…

Positive talk. It’s pretty easy to find tiny faults (especially while training), but I find that this can creep into all aspects of my life. I plan on spending more time writing in the evening in a journal I keep.

KK onto the RUN. I gotta admit. My calves were aching, but I new a recovery run would help shake them out! Gotta admit. I felt pretty BA getting in a ten mile recovery run after teaching all day. Ever more reason for me to crash early 🙂 I went to a close, safe route near school so as to beat the setting sun! It was really really tempting to convince myself “eh, I can do 7..or 8 ..or 9. Turn around now..okay now..hhmm are you gonna turn around?” That was the mental game I had with myself. I tried to tune down the little voice and just GO. Obviously my calfs had a different objective for the night, but they were troopers. I could feel a slight tightness in my knee, but after stretching a few miles in, they were fine. It was SO weird to punch out double digits on a weeknight. I am not sure when the last time I did that was…during training perhaps? Even then, I saved long runs for the weekend. Let it be known that I cannot WAIT to have the sun set later!! The pace was RIGHT ON as it is my recovery run pace.

  • 10.0 miles/ 10:29 pace.

I am deciding upon tomorrow’s routine. Probably something low impact and some upper body? Time to give the bad boys a break in anticipation of wed’s track.

I could probably fall asleep right now, but I have a few things to get done before then, including TWO guest posts to write 🙂 Have a goooood night.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Racing the sunlight

  1. oh no. night cramps are the worst! they definitely feel 100% more painful when they wake you up than during the day. bummer.

    but way to nail your workout. and think positively 🙂

  2. Deborah says:

    Ha! Glad I am not the only vegetarian who had a hard time with Lent this year. And 10 miles was your way to run after having your calves revolt? You are crazy.

  3. Lacey says:

    i hate night cramps. i donl’t get them anymore but i used to get them a lot. i almost wish i got them now instead of my weird tight/stiff achilles/calves.

    congrats on weeknight double digits!!!

    i don’t do Lent just b/c i never did growing up but i actually just dedicated myself to keeping a positive-only journal!!!! i started over the weekend and so far so good. i tend to be negative and self-critical so it is going to be a good exercise. i’m excited you are doing the same thing!! i’m trying to find “prompts” (Like lists to make, etc) and magazines are a pretty good resource. if you have any good topics def post them!

  4. finnyfinds says:

    Nice job with the journal AND the run! I think you’re pretty BA!

  5. Great job on your 10-miler!

Leave a Reply

