A 40 mile week

Yes. You read that correctly. I have completed my first 40 mile week. How do I feel? Pretty darn excited.

Today’s run was at Sawyer Camp in San Mateo. It is one of my FAVORITE routes that my group runs in near the city. On the agenda was 12 miles! Woot. The only problem with Sawyer Camp is that some of the trail is banked so my IT began to bother me (and still is…no worries, icing, rolling, repeat). BUT drumroll…

The garmin’s (TOTALLY about to purchase a discounted 305) battery went out so I just went with overall time and perceived effort. I don’t have the breakdown of stats per mile. And to be quite honest, reaching 12 miles and a 40 mile week in 2 months? Pacing didn’t matter to me as much. The group told me I came in around 2 hrs 5 minutes later. With a bummed IT, a nasty 1 mile hill, and no garmin to pace, it made me quite excited to know that getting close to 2 hours is so in reach. Baby steps – first a 2:10…Oakland Half anyone??

Also, I ran out of bread this morning so my pre-run meal (for those who wonder, its pb&jelly toast and half glass of skim milk), I settled for some trail mix. It was an experiment and it as eh. I’m a pb girl. Umm let’s see. I’m going to stop before I keep rambling and as much as you LOVE my rambling, I’ll leave you with a quote that came on my iPod during my run and a little reflection on it.

What you don’t have you don’t need it now. (It was a beautiful day)

Clearly, from U2’s Beautiful Day. Get back to the basics and priorities. It’s all there. When it comes to running, I have to realize I’ve got it.

Sorry for the quick post! I have a couple errands and school work to get done! Hope everyone had a good weekend.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A 40 mile week

  1. awesome job with the 40 mile week. that’s a mileage pr right? congrats 🙂

    • yep!! to be honest, when I was training for my half and my full, I never followed a training plan like this with multiple running days. With teaching, I’d do a long run, track workout and maybe another run or two…but nothing that totaled 40 (maybe when the long run was over 15, but still). THANKS!

  2. Lacey says:

    congrats!!!!!!!!!! love U2 🙂

  3. yay 40 miles! I totally think if you can run 12 in 2:05 as a regular long run you can race 13.1 in the same time or a bit better. I’m excited for you already.

  4. kbwood says:

    HEY GIRL!
    congrats1! this is awesome! you are a beast and im super jelous!

  5. so happy to meet you today 🙂 glad you’re diggin those choc covered pom seeds! yummm

  6. sophia says:

    40 mile week! Awesome, and great job, girl!

    p.s. I love your blog name 🙂

  7. Congrats on the 40 miles girl!!! HUGE accomplishment!

  8. Julie says:

    Congrats on the 40 mile week! I’m a runner and teacher (in MA) too, glad I found your blog, I just started blogging myself!

Leave a Reply

