Back at it

Hello!! No post yesterday. I did nothing. Really.

And it threw me off completely. In actuality, the shortened run on Monday and making Tuesday a rest day made me really anxious for my Wednesday run.

A little update: Super sore left hand. Banged up elbow and a room full of students who want to take down the biker who didn’t turn around to help me 🙂 This was after they found it mildly amusing that it was because I was exercising. “Miss why do you run??” Sigh. We all know the answer to that one.

I was unsure as to what the track workout was  going to be tonight. Since we had our day of no track because of the soccer game, the original track workout plan has changed. I went into the track workout prepared for a repeat of last weeks 10 x 400s, or 5 x 800s. But received a nice surprise and MY kind of track workout – 400,800,1200,1600,1200,800,400. Thanks, Stephanie. I liked this workout a lot. It was SO challenging to push hard

I also did a 1.5 mile warm up and 0.5 mile cool down to total 6.0 miles for the evening. Felt AMAZING.

400 – 1:42 (eek. too fast), 800 – 3:56, 1200 – 6:11, 1600 – 8:45 (eek.ran outta gas for sure), 1200 – 6:22, 800 – 4:04, 400 – 1:51.

As I wrote the times I realized that tonight I went by perceived effort, rather than pacing because as we can see, there are some inconsistent parts. I wore my stop watch and didn’t look at it until to turn it off. Throughout each run, I was trying to pace myself so I could maintain it for that distance and in the last hundred(s) or so meters, push out some more. I accomplished that goal and I am really psyched for Sunday’s 10k in San Francisco. Should be good!!

Thanks for the well-wishes from Monday’s post! I really didn’t want to go into school on Tuesday, to be honest. But, with teaching, a lot goes into being absent and it can be a nightmare when you come back.

Needless to say, I am ALREADY looking towards the weekend. In addition to the 10k on Sunday, Aron is planning a Runner meet-up on Saturday! I am really excited to meet some fabulous women in the area 🙂

Tomorrow, I am planning a do-over of Monday’s run aka a long tempo/steady state run of approximately 8 miles. As we all know, I am not quite sure if it will be 8 miles, so we will find out. The co-pay for the ER was going to be the money I was going to set aside for the Garmin 😦 My old-school garmin has taken me this far…it can take me to the end of march.

Have a goooood THURSDAY!

This entry was posted in Track, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Back at it

  1. sounds like an amazing workout! sad face about the ER co-pay, but your garmin can hang in there! have fun at your runner meetup this weekend, should be a great time 🙂 love that the students want to take that a-hole biker down

  2. Lacey says:

    nice interval workout!!! ladders are definitely entertaining and a great way to get some speedwork in without it feeling monotonous!!! i think perceived effort is an awesome way to run them. what is your favorite of all the distances you did?

    • I really liked the 1200m because it allowed me to get into a good and challenging pace. The 400m repeats I also enjoy because you can totally push yourself hardcore! I’m intrigued with doing some 1200m repeats with some 400m at the end. I’m not a fan of even numbers it seems 😉

  3. that’s a pretty sweet workout! i love ladder-type workouts 🙂

    and i soooo feel you on ER co-pays! they are way to much. i had to go to the ER twice a day for 4 days in jan 09 and i think i’d rather have taken my chances on my own defying death because the bill just about killed me!!

  4. Tina says:

    Oh yuck that you are still in some pain. 😦 But at least you had a great run to help ya feel better 😀

  5. aron says:

    nice job on the workout!!!

    cant wait to see you on sat 🙂

  6. Excellent workout!

    I’m looking forward to meeting you on Saturday!

Leave a Reply

