Redemption

When I fell on Monday and didn’t get to finish my planned workout, I got home and changed the game plan for the week. Thursday became the long tempo run for 8 miles. I am still contemplating what I want to do tomorrow run wise. I do have great runs planned for the weekend so if anything, it’ll be an easy run after school.

Phew, I am surprised that my pace totally became what it was. My stomach was making it difficult to run (note to self: gotta record what I eat for lunch because this isn’t the first time that I seem to get ‘knots’ in my stomach before running in the afternoon) AND I was against the wind for some of it! Despite these little excuses that I made, I decided to drop my water bottle off at my car because it felt hindering (why? totally mental). Thankfully, I chose two 4 mile loops so I made a little pit stop to drop the water bottle off.

  • 8 miles, (left my garmin in the car, but I know the pace) – 9:30.

Besides the purpose of redemption from Monday, my run was meant to build up some mental confidence for the 10k on Sunday! I figured that if I could keep a steady pace at a higher mileage, then I’ll be able to kick it up a notch on Sunday. My last 10k pace was at a 9:24. I am ready to work it and bring on a new PR. I am figuring out a good race strategy so as not to burn out early. Two days after my last 10k, I completed the same time, pace, and distance workout, but achieved it through a 1 mile easy, 2 miles short tempo, 1 mile easy, 2 miles short tempo. I figure if I can maintain a 1 mile med tempo, 2 mile short tempo, 1 mile med tempo, 2 mile short tempo, then I will be able to knock some time off. Again, as I type this as a naive 10k runner, I look to you all. Β What is your race strategy for shorter distances?

Happy Friday ya’ll. Thursday nights have to be one of my favorites of the workweek. My procrastinating mind can put off so many things and say “eh, I’ll do it this weekend.” Speaking of, ALICE and WONDERLAND is coming out and I will be in the theater this weekend. Gotta love Johnny.


This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Redemption

  1. i can’t wait for alice in wonderland! sadly i’m going to have to wait a week until i’m on spring break but i’m still WICKED excited!!!!!

    as for race strategy for short races: it’s all about going out hard and trying not to slow down too much hahaha. granted i am a very inexperienced racer but that’s what i do πŸ™‚

  2. i’m kind of scared to see alice in wonderland, the billboards look so creepy! glad that your runs have been up to your standards πŸ™‚

  3. I don’t have any insight on race strategy, but I wanted to tell you that your running reports are so inspiring! I’m currently training for my first 10-mile race, and reading your posts gets me EXCITED for my next run! πŸ™‚

  4. BostonRunner says:

    I don’t really have a race strategy for shorter races yet since I’ve only ran two 5Ks but since I’m still new I try not to start too fast right out of the gate so that I can go really hard at the end.
    By the way, your guest post is up on my blog today! : )

  5. kbwood says:

    ahhh shorter races i just sprint the whole time! haha πŸ™‚ prob not the best strategy 😦
    love you girl!!

Leave a Reply

