Back to my roots

Last year, I didn’t really like to run outside (GASP!!) and I think it was because I didn’t know where to run. Also, I didn’t want to drive anywhere after school if I wasn’t going to be able to run more than a few miles. So in order to convince myself to get outside, I ran door to door – meaning from my apt to UC Berkeley and back. Exactly 5 miles. I found this route SO CHALLENGING and most days it still is. It is a straight gradual uphill to the campus, and since I do a loop, I hit a little more uphill than a sweet downhill. If I wasn’t in it mentally when I got out my door, then the rest of the run would suffer horribly, esp if I wanted to go “fast” and the legs didn’t.

Today, I revisited this route and I think I’ve found my perfect easy run route. So you can say I am going back to my roots. I can totally tack on more miles or deduct depending on what my needs are. Since I know I’ll be having a packed running weekend, I stuck with 5 slow, easy miles. It took the pressure off of the hills and allowed the legs to shake out a bit.

  • 5 miles, 52 minutes – 10:24 pace

Right at easy pace. Couldn’t have planned that more perfect if I tried. In fast, I just brought my stop watch to take any pressure off.

Tonight I have a fun night planned with some lovely ladies, but no worries, I don’t think I’ll be out too late πŸ™‚ I have a GREAT BAY AREA BLOGGER RUNNER meet-up tomorrow AM! I will be sure to report back on that, along with some last minute thoughts on the 10k. How was your Friday?

Oh, and I have another guest post talking about my transition from the east to west coast, and how running worked its way in there πŸ™‚ Check it out.

Thank you, Jill, for the Sunshine award!! It is ironic that I am the one who is somehow getting the most sunshine out here (despite the RAIN)!

Hello SPRING TRAINING! Anyone else looking forward to spring?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Back to my roots

  1. my friday has been errands + work. but it’s getting late so i might play catch up with some tv that i missed during the week.

    and it’s so awesome that your once challenging route is now easy. way to rock!!

  2. Thank you for being you πŸ™‚

    And I’m looking forward to CARDINALS baseball!!!!!

  3. i meant to text you today and wish you a happy berkeley run! have fun tomorrow, sweet meetup!

Leave a Reply

