Fabulous start to a weekend

Last night after my 5 miler, I quickly showered, got ready and was out the door in a pretty impressive amount of time (and blogged! woot). We went to Beretta in the Mission. Our wait time was long, but two of the girls lived close, so we went to their apt and had a glass of wine then head back to the restaurant. The food was so delicious, despite the CRAZY wait we encountered. I only had one glass because I had the most relaxing blogger run meet-up today!

I met them at the Iron Horse Trail in Danville and set off on an eventual 10 mile run. I know I had 13 planned, BUT I’ll settle with the ten since I have the 10k tomorrow! These ladies were absolutely fabulous! The run went so fast and we chatted the whole time. It is amazing that having not met these girls in person, we all hit it off great. I am so so happy to have found and met such great women to chat with πŸ™‚ We have already planned some future runs/races so I am super excited about that!! YAY. I could not be more happier. (If you can’t tell!)

As far as the run went, my legs were in a big of a funk. Um. MAYBE it’s because my legs aren’t used to the amount of consecutive running days. I think that’s why I reconsidered the 13. I’ll try it out this week instead after a rest day.

After the run, I went to Sports Basement in Walnut Creek to see if they had the 205 Garmin. They didn’t 😦 It is okay because I found it on AMAZON for 131 and you know that I so got it…I know I said I’d wait, but I consider it my running purchase for the month.

When leaving Sports Basement, I got a call from the girls asking if I wanted to meet them for brunch. So down. Food coma for sure. We chatted more and it didn’t take much to twist my arm into a few races further in the spring/early summer…this is what I needed! If I didn’t have an amazing running group to support me already, then consider me doubly blessed!

When I got home I immediately pulled out all the stops – epsom salt, the stick, and foam roller. I am going to get a good dinnah in and turn in early for bed. I am very excited for the 10k! I felt so great after the last 10k. I think my race strategy will be to run the starting miles a few seconds slower than goal 10k pace to prevent going out too fast and burning out, then settle into goal pace. When this feels good, then kick it up in the last miles or so. This won’t hurt time too much. Granted, I tend to get ahead of myself and adrenaline will play a large part tomorrow πŸ™‚ But just going in with a little naive plan helps calm my mind!

Sigh. I’ve got a lab to write up for the kiddos and I don’t want to do that tomorrow so I better get to that. Let’s bring on the RACE!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Fabulous start to a weekend

  1. listen to you miss social butterfly! sounds like a great weekend you’re having! bummer about the garmin, but at least you got a trip to sports basement out of it πŸ™‚

  2. so awesome to meet you! You held strong for the 10, so just rest up for tomorrow! Good luck on the 10K!

    This is the 12k info, let me know if you want to do it:
    http://rhodyco.com/eab12k-2010.html

  3. what a great run! i wish more bloggers lived near me as your blogger meetup sounds fabulous!

    and youre going to ROCK the 10k good luck πŸ™‚

  4. aron says:

    soooo fun meeting you today!!! cant wait for lots more runs, races and adventures πŸ™‚ good luck in your race tomorrow!!! i want to hear all about it!

  5. Yay! I’m from Danville, Iron Horse was my bread and butter run! I actually went off onto the side trails in the hills a lot, but still have most of the mile markers memorized, 10 would be up to Rudgear and back, right?

    • Nice! Do you still have family here? Aka, will you be back in Cali anytime soon?? We started at where the farmer’s market is, headed out 3 and back to the farmer’s market, then continued 2 in the opposite direction and back. It was my first time in the area so pardon my explanation!! LOVED the route though πŸ™‚ So returning.

      • Yup, that makes perfect sense to me. My mom and dad (and temporarily my brother) still live there. I am moving to San Diego in the next year or so, but I pretty much always go to Danville for Christmas! I will take you off-road, haha πŸ™‚

  6. Amazon is THE place to get a Garmin, tis where I got mine πŸ˜€ I love Amazon.
    You’re tough girl!!!

  7. Pingback: March Rewind « Running on Faith

Leave a Reply

