Heart to heart

Hi all. I had a meeting after school yesterday so Tuesday became a rest day. I have been really tired lately and I know I needed the rest day. My body will love me during the weekend when I utilize some days as recovery days too.

I was really excited to pick up my NEW GARMIN today from UPS. I quickly charged it when I got home and took it for a test drive this evening on the track. I will talk more about it after I use it for my tempo run. I think the average pace feature will be exceptionally helpful during those since are the runs that I really want to be consistent. Speaking of consistency, I didn’t feel it at the track tonight.

We had 6x800m planned and I was totally done by the 4th one. I am not talking like ehh i could have done better. I am talking mental wipeout. Overall, I averaged about 4 minutes per 800 which was around what Mcmillan told me, but each was so grueling and my head wasn’t there. Every run cannot be miraculous and I understand that. Just another reason to get out there and try again tomorrow. Tomorrow I have tempo on schedule.

Time for a heart to heart: I had mentioned earlier in some posts that for Lent I am really trying to practice positive thinking. Go figure that one of the toughest months of the school year falls during Lent – MARCH. This is the home stretch before we hit spring break, testing, memorial day weekend…etc. Without going into too much detail, there are other things that seem to be rearing its ugly head in my personal life which has challenged this idea of positive thinking. I took to journaling Sunday night and something seemed to hit a nerve. This is nothing to worry about – it’s just those little things that I found myself working through last year as a young adult out here on my own. The good thing is that I know what works and what doesn’t work and can bounce right back.

So, if you are reading my blog, please send some positive vibes my way. If you haven’t commented, then please say hello! It truly uplifts me when I hear from you.

Sorry for the Debbie Downer of a post. You all know that I am real and can’t be upbeat 100% of the time. I am sure that this time tomorrow I will be getting my groove back and looking for the weekend. Let’s get to FRIDAY folks.

This entry was posted in Track and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Heart to heart

  1. ellen says:

    You have a lot of strength Kerry-which is always hard to remember when you’re feeling down or things seem hard. It is amazing really what you have created in your life. A new home, new friends, a new job-any one of those things alone is difficult-you’ve taken them all on at once and met them with persistence, grace and humor. Remind yourself of it daily.

  2. aron says:

    hang in there girlie, sending lots of positive vibes your way! let me know if you need anything πŸ™‚ i am not far away!!

  3. Hello! I’m a new reader, I (think) found you on aron’s blog!

    You’ll LOVE your Garmin. Mine changed my life πŸ™‚

  4. lol if THIS was a debbie downer post, then i don’t even know what you can call some of my “heart to heart” ones…i swear they are like instant depressors sometimes! but hey, we all need an outlet right? isn’t it weird how sometimes when you’re journaling you actually get triggered and realize that something is bugging you? but you will work through this, and of course you have support from all of us if ya need it! you may be out here alone, but you’re NOT alone (you can always call me up, yee!)

  5. I’m a relatively new reader, but I wanted to let you know that I’m definitely sending positive thoughts your way! There’s no doubt in my mind you can get through whatever bumps in the road of life you’re facing. πŸ™‚

  6. Tina says:

    I know how much uplifting words from others can help…just like my post yesterday πŸ™‚ I am always following along on your blog and think you do a great job. You improve your runs and work hard. That says a lot. Keep up the awesomeness! πŸ™‚

  7. Smile my little enchilada. We love you and support you here!!

  8. girl keep you head up: you rock :)!!!!

    i totally feel you about march being the longest month of the year. but it’s already the MIDDLE of the month. we’ve made it this far chica, we can make it through the rest πŸ™‚ sending good vibes your wayyyyy

  9. Lacey says:

    me, too!!!!! i’m having so many blah days that they are adding up and making me sad. i think the key is to start small. find something positive and really say HEY that was great. you don’t have to do everything well or good or perfect or positive, but when something does go your way– hold on to that πŸ™‚

  10. Lots of love and positive vibes coming your way, girl! Hang in there, and remember that you are strong and can do anything!

    Let me know about kickboxing next week, if not, we can meet up for a run after work! πŸ™‚ I always find that the best way to beat a slump (especially an emotional and/or mental slump) is to work out with someone – sweat it out and enjoy time with a friend!

    β™₯

  11. Julie says:

    Stay positive! It’s a good thing to listen to your body, it knows when it needs a rest!

  12. Aw girl, I’ll be thinking about you!!!! Positive thinking can be such a challenge at times. And it seems like you when you really TRY to do it, all the bad stuff hits you. STAY STRONG girl!!!!!!!

    And yay for the garmin!

Leave a Reply

