Foam rollin’ champion

Tuesday is usually a non running day, but since I took “off” Fri and Sat, I thought I’d use today as an easy/fun run. Not really sure if my body got the memo that I wanted it to be fun and easy because it spent literally 6 miles flushing out yesterday and Sunday’s miles. Does that bother anyone else? I mean, I responded and really made sure I was aware of an easy pace, but legs felt like stones. In retrospect, I took Sunday’s workout HARD (well for me!) and it probably felt like I was racing it, instead of just getting the distance in. That could possibly be the reason why my legs feel like cement yesterday and today.

  • 8 mile @ 10:10 pace

My game plan? Epsom salt bath and foam rolling marathon. Well, I guess the word ‘marathon’ has a different appeal to this audience. Just imagine laying in front of the tv with the foam roller for a solid chunk of time. I just did a round before writing this post, and I can already feel much better (and epsom salt too). I’ll take it to the next level in a bit. I think I’ve been paying lots of attention to the right side of my body because thats where the IT was tight, and it’s like they’ve reversed roles. I went to the left side and HELLO. Hmm..ya. Maybe set the alarm clock a little bit earlier and do some stretches before showering? I should add that to my game plan, because I got a kickass track workout for tomorrow.

A couple weeks ago we did a ladder. To me, it was one of the best and challenging track workouts to date. I am going to revisit that tomorrow. I won’t be able to meet my group tomorrow, so I am going to head out a bit earlier and try to do this solo.

I am getting really excited for the weekend 12k!! I’m set for an enjoyable run, not really racing it πŸ™‚ And yes, Maritza, I can add then check off running across the Golden Gate Bridge. Also, I am pretty proud of myself for staying true to my word when I muttered during every long run for CIM that “I just want to work on shorter races!” Granted, I may have a re-match with CIM come December, but I am not even THINKING that yet.

Hmm hmm…back to the roller. I’m a champeeen.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Foam rollin’ champion

  1. running across the GGB = one of my absolute favorite things to do. unless it’s foggy, but even then it’s still really cool, despite not being able to see a damn thing! i vote for early morning stretches, gotta get it done! ooh i love “just breathe” by pearl jam, although i think it’s their most depressing song ever!

  2. I did a hard pyramid track workout this morning. It was great! I LOVE the track but my legs are feeling it now. I really need to invest in a foam roller… Haha

  3. atalantasapples says:

    Hi! Another runner-teacher here, bouncing over from Aron — nice blog, and good luck this weekend!

  4. Tina says:

    I’m going to try to get in my own foam rolling marathon today too. πŸ™‚

  5. Danielle says:

    Hey, thanks for your comment πŸ˜€ I always love meeting other runners. Good luck with your 12K!

    I’ve actually never foam rolled- do you think it makes a huge difference?

  6. ugh that totally bugs me when my body doesn’t get the memo that today is supposed to be an xx run! i think i need to invest in a foam roller. or at steal the one from the gym shhhhhhhh πŸ˜‰

  7. The foam roller is my BFF! Great job rolling those muscles, it’ll definitely pay off in the long run. πŸ™‚

    Can’t wait to see ya this weekend!!

  8. Lacey says:

    ooh i have never taken an epsom salt bath but my bro who runs track does that sometimes. let me know what it is like!! do you notice a difference right away??

    yay foam roller. i should use mine more.

    i hate feeling slow, but it def takes some time for legs to recover after hard efforts. just know you worked hard so now your reward is to take it easy until you’re ready/recovered. go by feel for sure!

    • I feel a difference if I sit for a long period of time. So I definitely set up camp. I also make sure to do all the normal post-run routines. I don’t use the salt bath every time I hit a certain long-run number. Instead, I usually wait until like a race or race-like effort on a training run, when my body needs that extra support in recovering.

  9. d.a.r. says:

    I just found your blog and adore it! It’s fun to see other runners my age/speed!

    I’ve never done the epsom salt bath, but ice baths help me SO much after longer runs. Of course, I shriek like a little girl for the first five minutes and hate myself for it, but then it feels all better πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

