Emerald Across the Bay 12k Race Recap

Saturday: I headed out to one of my favorite SF running locations to meet up with the running group. Since I knew I had a race in the am, I cut down the planned 10 to a bit over 8. I ran the first four @ a 10 min pace, but decided to kick it up a notch on the way back. I actually have been trying something “new” out. I start the running without my iPod playing to get my breathing and form under control, then use the music as means for motivation. The second half of my run was at a 9:30 pace. Felt grand and the legs were on it.

  • 8.25 miles, 9:42 min/mile.

Sunday!! What you all really want to know about! Maritza mentioned the Emerald Across the Bay 12k race two weeks ago and knowing I was about to taper for Oakland, I thought it’d be fun to cross running across the GG bridge off my list πŸ™‚ Can’t really say that I fueled “properly” the night before, but eh, things still went well. She picked me up around 6:30 am and we headed over. You park near Aquatic Park/Ghiradelli Square where the finish line is and they bus you over the bridge to Sausalito, dump you off, and you run home. (All photos are Maritza’s! Thanks lady)

Maritza and I as we wait for the bus

Heading over the bridge to Sausalito

Waiting in the “Toilet Line” before our wave’s start

The race was set up into three waves to break up congestion especially on the bridge! We were in wave two which went at 8:45. At the start, the race is a straight downhill, which was wonderful because according to Maritza “We are at water level, we need to get up to bridge level” so I waiting ahem patiently for that infamous uphill to the GG bridge. Well this uphill was a doozey and you’ll see that it reflects in my splits. This uphill is like a weaving maze that makes its way to the bridge’s entrance. Congestion on the bridge wasn’t as bad as I imagined. Most realized to move over the the right so weaving wasn’t horrible.

About half way across the bridge, this began the 2+ mile downhill which made my life and helped the pace that had dropped to 10:17 min/mile by mile 2 due to that incline! We crossed the bridge and made way through the presidio. It was after Fort Point that I saw Tara and Aron cheering me on! This fueled the last miles along the Marina. This was a familiar route as we use it when we start at Sports Basement. I knew that if I could just keep the pace and cut off some time, then the hill that happens right at the end wouldn’t destroy the time I was cutting.

Mind you, I resisted putting on my iPod until mile 5.5! This really really helped in breathing control. It also allowed me to find my go to songs! Mile 7 came quickly and soon I had gone up and over the last hill of the race. The 12k ended on a FAST downhill which I used to get my pace under a 9:30.

  • Mile 1: 9:43
  • Mile 2: 10:54 (yaaa the HILL)
  • Mile 3: 9:20
  • Mile 4: 8:43 (WOOT!)
  • Mile 5: 9:05
  • Mile 6: 9:16
  • Mile 7: 9:15
  • Mile 7.54: 9:19

Overall: 7.54 mile, 1:11:20, 9:27 min/mile pace

I am really pleased with how it went. This was my first 12k πŸ™‚ It was a good lesson in pacing and after mile 2, I was proud with my fairly consistent splits and will take an 8:43 ANYDAY! In my mind, I am viewing it more as a training run for Oakland Half. The reason why? I know how my body was responding at those sub-9:15 paces and as a result, it gives me a good idea for an A, B, and C goal pace/overall time for the half next weekend. Obviously, I will not be setting out to pace the same for a half as a 12k (that=blowing up mid race), so it will be a good mental check if I see I am doing that early on in the half and to instead shoot for something around 9:40, then adjust if I’m feeling good. Β (Sorry rambling there.)

Mimosas and a post race brunch with Maritza, Aron, and Tara

So in other news, I set up a twitter account after multiple requests πŸ˜‰ Runningonfaith2 (bummed that someone already had runningonfaith) but why two? because of my sub-2 hour half goal πŸ™‚ I think the proper terminology is to “follow me” – I feel like a grandma working with an email account. Anyways, congrats to my girl MARITZA who rocked the race too, and to any other lovely runners who were out there today doing what we love best!

This entry was posted in Race Recaps and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Emerald Across the Bay 12k Race Recap

  1. haha sadly i won’t follow you on twitter. yes i have an account but only so i get an extra entry in giveaways πŸ˜‰

    congrats!! way to execute a great race plan. only good things to come πŸ™‚

  2. Tiffany says:

    Congrats on the 12K and checking off the GG bridge! It would be awesome to do it. I also just signed up for Twitter and am feeling the exact same way. My twitter name is tiffanyclark87.

  3. aron says:

    awesome job girl!!! you totally rocked that race and it was sooo fun seeing you out there and hanging out so much this weekend!!!! you are going to rock oakland πŸ™‚

  4. Lacey says:

    wooohoo! nice photos πŸ™‚ glad you had such a good race and such a great day πŸ™‚ i’ll follow you on twitter πŸ™‚ tweet tweeT! πŸ™‚ my name: LaceyObjecEvent

  5. YAY! Way to rock that race and push through the uphills to finish strong! SO FUN!!!

  6. Is this picture indicative of how you “rehydrate”? Ahhh, youth…the splendor of it all. Good race Kerry!

  7. BostonRunner says:

    Congrats on an awesome race!!
    I know what you mean about the hills leading up the the bridge.. when I visited SF my sister decided it would be a fun idea to rent bikes and bike across it.. yeah we almost died getting up those hills! Speeding down them on the other side was fun though : )

  8. d.a.r. says:

    Woohoo congrats!!!!

  9. way to go! massive hills too, will your half marathon be hilly or is it by the water? And speaking of 12k’s, are you going to run Bay to Breakers? (Not a good race to run fast but TOTALLY an SF must-do)

  10. Pingback: March Rewind « Running on Faith

  11. Pingback: the only anniversary I’m celebrating… « Running on Faith

  12. Pingback: Spectating Weekend 1 of 2 « Running on Faith

  13. Pingback: Editing Running Memories | Running on Faith

Leave a Reply

