Runnahh seven

I am pretty stoked that the legs were feeling okay after yesterday’s race! I did experience some tight calves, but we can attribute those to the hills. Today was an easy 3 mile recovery. I am in taper mode in preparation for Oakland Half this weekend. I think my body could use this real cutback in mileage and intensity Β as Sunday roles around. I didn’t even bring my garmin out. It stayed in the car while I just ran and turned around back to my car. It actually felt real bizarre to just do 3, but my purpose for the run was to take inventory of how the body felt after the race and show special attention to any part that felt achy πŸ™‚ Calves are getting all my lovin’ tonight.

I have not really mentioned it much for awhile, but on April 23-25, I will be running in the Ragnar Relay with a team organized by Bobbi in SoCal.Β This is my next endeavor after Oakland and it is something completely different and exciting! I am well aware of the physical strain that my body is going to be under, but as runners, isn’t that what we train for in the first place?? In my current training plan, I have incorporated some runs/races on “tired legs” in prep for the relay. After Oakland, I am going to do some two a day runs on a weekend.

So, today, I got word of the “leg” (runnahh seven) that I will be running and I AM TOTALLY EXCITED with the route!! I know there are pluses and minuses to each route, and I don’t know many of the variables yet, all I know is that I will be running on the water and none of my legs are more than 7 miles. Sweet deal. Check ’em out.

This is my first leg – 5.3 miles of “moderate”. I feel like I’ve been to this area when visiting..hmm..well, should be cool. This is the only part that i am running “inland” and at this elevation. Woot.

This is my second leg and it is 7 miles of “hard”. I figure that each leg will have its perks and downers, but this is in Santa Monica πŸ™‚ Lovely. I am guessing that this will be the night one.

This is the third leg and it is another 7 miles of “hard”. Half of the run is along Huntington Beach, then it cuts inland. I am pretty sure that when I went driving with my brother down the 1 last year, that we went right through this area.

Grand Total for the relay – 19.3. AHHH. Totally putting myself outside the comfort zone in all respects and I am in the process of modifying my training plan post Oakland to prepare my body for this adventure.

Yay. Excitement all around. Totally washes away Monday drags that occurred today.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Runnahh seven

  1. oh hills. they totally tighten up my calves too! i think i’m going to have to give them up for awhile. boo.

    and that relay sounds AWESOME. i wish i could fly out there and join you guys! i need to do some research and find something like that over here

  2. Lacey says:

    i think i’m too much of a control freak and need things to be a certain way so i haven’t ever really thought about doing a relay. i would worry about getting stiff in between legs, etc. it does sound like so much fun when i read about them from other people, tho!!!!! and i’ve always wanted to make running more of a team sport for myself somehow πŸ™‚

    • I think what you mentioned are the “variables” and “outside my comfort zone” that I was referring to! BUT, with that being said, it is time to take the plunge πŸ™‚ p.s. liked your soundtrack.

  3. diana says:

    Enjoy this week of taper! Your body will appreciate it.

    The relay sounds like it is going to be a blast!

  4. kbwood says:

    oh goodness! you are so awesome at running! im tapering this week too! haha but a little easier!! thanks so much for your SWEET comments girl-you are awesome!

  5. You’re gonna have a blast! Enjoy every second!

  6. d.a.r. says:

    oh my goodness..intense, haha!! you are my hero! I am just praying to get through my 11 miler this weekend πŸ™‚

  7. Marci says:

    Great blog, I’ve added you to my reader. It was nice meeting you while in SF area. Great job at your 12K race as well! πŸ™‚

  8. The relay sounds like so much fun! I’m running my first relay in June and can’t wait!

  9. Tara says:

    I can’t wait to hear all about the relay! You got a pretty sweet leg it seems and will have lots of good scenery! If you ever want to do some longer runs in prep for the relay let me know and we can meet up and find some hillier areas to run in πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

