Finish strong.

Yesterday was spent in one of my favorite places in the entire world – the gym. Cross training.

Sense the sarcasm. End of that story because there is not much to report in that arena.

Track workout took a different form tonight as we settled into our half marathon pace for approximately 4 miles. I have been toying with a couple “goal” times and paces, when in all honesty, this is a race that I am looking to enjoy and finish strong. I want to be healthy and ready to pick up in preparation for the relay!

As a result, I am setting out a couple goals that will allow me to sink into a good and appropriate rhythm. To give you some perspective, my current half marathon PR was at San Jose RnR with a 2:13. That is approximately a 10:10 pace. Using my 10k race as guidance into the Mcmillan world, here are some goals of mine. [Note: my ultimate “sub-2” goal will always be in the back of my mind, but this race is not the time. I have my eye on a future half marathon to work towards, but hey, if it’s there and I’m feeling it in any of the halfs before it, then soooo be it!]

1. Pace a personal best. I am aiming for 9:45 min/mile.

2. Achieve under 2:10. This will be achievable if I keep that pace above and be a personal record.

3. Keep the head up. In both senses. I want to enjoy the race and the sights since it is in the area I live in. I don’t want it to be a race that I “block out of my memory” (ahem: last half of CIM). I also want to finish with the sense of accomplishment and  a smile.

So as you can see, I am going into the race with some expectations, but this isn’t THE race. It is the beginning of race season (sort of!).

I know my body is appreciating the taper week, but it is pretty hard mentally to cut back on everything. Does that happen to you too?

On my agenda, I am making a playlist for the half!! Woo. I have read a couple posts lately on music that gets you going, but if you have any to add, then let me know.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Finish strong.

  1. Cross-training is the bane of my existence lately too! With the beautiful weather all I want to do is RUN!!!!

    “Love Again” – Cascada is one of my favourite running songs EVERR. That song has gotten me up some tough hills!!

  2. I love taper week!! It gives me an excuse to cut back on exercise without any guilt. Plus I always feel better and stronger after a taper week.

  3. i am terrible at the taper! i know that it’ll make me fast and strong and rested but i still suck at it hahah.

    great goals for the race. you re going to rock 🙂

  4. Lacey says:

    in addition to all the music i’ve posted lately my go – to’s are: untouched by the veronicas, remember the name by fort minor, and bleed it out by linkin park. 🙂

  5. BostonRunner says:

    Oh you caught me at a good time, I’m in the middle of making my playlist for my 5 miler this weekend! I was going to do a post on this this weekend, but I’ll let you in on some of my favorites you may not have:
    “pressure” by skindred
    “hands open” by snow patrol
    “till I collapse” by eminem

  6. Rhianna’s Rude Boy!!!!! I’ll email it to you if you want!

    These are some great goals, so just keep the focus and you will do great!!

Leave a Reply

