Why I run …part 1

This post is dedicated to myself on October 4th, 2009. Oh, yes, I am modest.

‘Twas on Oct 4th that I considered myself ‘re-born’ in the world of running. I had always dabbled in running as you can tell from my running history. But really, had I pushed myself? I came across this quote from Danielle at Coffee Run and it hit me with the same motivation that it did her. If you have already read it, then you can go ahead and skip it. It can be quite lengthy, so I apologize in advance.

This is taken directly from Danielle’s blog. Thanks for originally posting it.

_____________

*In regards to an overweight contestant trying to run 10 mph for 30 seconds on the treadmill*

“We function in a comfort zone that is so far below what our potential really is. So the girl runs 27 seconds of the 30 seconds and the last 3 seconds she jumps off, looks at me, and goes “I told you I couldn’t do it.” I almost killed her. I was like, “You jumped off that treadmill just to be right. You jumped off with those last 3 seconds just so you could say I was wrong and you were right and everything you believed to be true is still true. You’re terrified of thinking that everything in your life that you believed up until now is bull crap and that’s why you jumped off that treadmill. Because when you run these 30 seconds and you are wrong about what you can do and what you can’t do, and who you are and who you are not, you will have an entire reality shattered in 30 seconds. And that’s why you will not run this sprint.

The other [contestant], the one that is jumping on the platform, she jumps on the platform after “I can’t, I can’t, I can’t” …she does it right away and then can’t do it again. And the reason she can’t do it again is the same…because she refuses to acknowledge that all this time they’ve been able to. All this time, the potential was really there.

Because once you know you CAN, you have an obligation to do it. And that’s scary. So I want to ask you what prison is your mind keeping you in? How far below your potential are you truly functioning? Because If I can take a 250 lb girl and have her run at 10 mph, what can the average person do that they don’t realize they can do? Why are you cheating yourself? What are you really running from? What is so fearful to people about being great? And why do we not allow that into our world?”

______________

I thought I’d save posting this until the night before Half Marathon #4  – Oakland. Each time I go out and race, I am always putting myself outside of that comfort zone. Running does not come easy to me. In fact, it is a challenge that I have come to welcome with open arms. There has never been a run where I don’t second guess myself, critique my form/pace, etc. but overcoming those tiny voices that creep in and finding the little victories after a run are the reasons why I get back out there again and embrace the challenge.

I was asked recently “why I run so far/often, race so much, run so many miles, go to bed earlier…” the list goes on. And each time I get asked this question, I get caught off guard 🙂 It is like I have only 100 words or less to explain why this consumes so much of my life.

…But the one part of the answer that I can absolutely agree upon is that it is time for me to push myself. challenge myself. discipline myself. encourage myself. calm myself.

Now there are many things in people’s lives that do those things that I named above – physical activity or not. Maybe it is a job or another outlet or hobby. For me it is running. With that being said, tomorrow

I know I can break my 2:13 PR.

I hope I can pace under 10 min/miles.

I wish I can PR at under 2 hours 😉

Yay! Cheers to diggin’ deep around mile 11. See you at the finish line.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Why I run …part 1

  1. d.a.r. says:

    Awesome post, good luck!

  2. excellent post. the whole time i was nodding my head! good luck. dig deep. let’s go be great 🙂

  3. Good luck! You’re going to do wonderful!!

  4. I love this post! I’m definitely deserve some yelling at from Jillian or Bob on this one.

    Have a great race! Can’t wait to hear all about your new PR!

  5. Layla says:

    Great post! But I did notice the line where you said there’s never been a run where you didn’t second guess and critique yourself. I think you can have runs where you don’t do that — where you don’t care about the time or the pace or how far you’re going. You are a runner, and your 2:13 PR is definitely nothing to scorn. You deserve to have truly joyous worry-free runs.

    • Thanks, Layla. And in response to your comment, I have carefree runs so maybe I should have eliminated the “never” part. While getting back into running, I have come to embrace those days without a target. Thanks for the encouragement and hope to run with you again soon!!

  6. a marathoner says:

    Bottom line is that you are hooked. When running becomes a drug, like it is for most of us, non-runners can’t understand.

    Re your HM: Let it rip! Can’t wait to read the race report!!!

  7. Pingback: Oakland finally gets a Sunday Streets! Plus, highlights of this week’s blogoaksphere. : A Better Oakland

Leave a Reply

