Recap to come

I’ll let the cat outta the bag – today was not my day as far as the goals I set. BUT, despite that, I still managed to get almost the exact time that I did for San Jose which kinda floored me.  (And my 2:13 is an honorable time to begin with)

So I am going to delay this recap for a day or so because I am still ehh about how things went. I want to do the race recap the justice it deserves, since it was such a special race for me to run. Honestly, I just know that writing it feeling minor letdowns would overshadow the fact that I completed my fourth half marathon! So, I’ll let things sit with me and get back to you all soon.

Thanks for all those who sent out words of encouragement 🙂

So, I’ll leave you with some pictures below. Just so you know I was taken care of after the race. Check out my bling and my beer.

And so you know I didn’t lose my sense of humor at the race. Check out who greeted us when we crossed the finish line. SUPPOSABLY he was not there when runners crossed earlier. So it is possible that the Big Guy wanted me to cross the finish line later, so I could see the MR. COOPER. (hanging with mr. cooper…literally.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Recap to come

  1. yeah today was a bummer day for racing for me too. but we did it and finished our races. rock on 🙂

  2. Pingback: Oakland finally gets a Sunday Streets! Plus, highlights of this week’s blogoaksphere. : A Better Oakland

  3. Lacey says:

    attitude is where it’s at. that’s how we’ll last as runners. if we live and die by each race, we will just burn out 🙂

  4. Melanie A. says:

    Oh, man, I shouldn’t have made you look behind you to find the source of my belated cheer for you on Grand Avenue. But I’ll be grownup and take the blame 😦

  5. a marathoner says:

    First congrats on gutting out the race (literally). If it makes you feel any better, 2:13 was my first HM time and I had none of the physical issues you had to deal with! Pretty amazing that you posted that kind of time dealing with major stomach problems. You should feel proud!

    It sounds like you had a lot of fun … which is the point, right? Very wise to rep the school colors. Did you get extra cheers while on the road? I bet the students appreciated it.

    Congrats on fighting thru and finishing what you started!!

    • Yes! Lots of cheers and most people knew that it was a local high school! I very much enjoyed the “local” feel of the race and that’s what kept me going. I have a couple half marathons lined up for the rest of the year, so it’ll be nice to hopefully see the difference of training (and having “the race”).

Leave a Reply

