T-minus 2 days.

TWO more days until Spring Break!!! Had to get that out of my system.

Oh my, THANKS for the comments on my half marathon recap. They were so well received and encouraging. I even received an email to troubleshoot what was going on. THANK YOU. I believe in addition to watching what I eat the night/day of a run, I will also be watching how my breathing is during a race. My aches were more side stitches than indigestion issues, so it might definitely be a result of going those for 2.5 miles at a pace that my breathing did not support. LESSON LEARNED.

My legs felt amazing on monday! The rest of my body thoughโ€ฆehh, it was sunburnt and hungover. Good thing I had off on Monday!! I went for a 5 mile recovery run on my “easy” route that I mentioned before – an out and back to UC Berkeley . I would chuckle when I saw the students going to class and I HAD OFF. As I powered up the hill on Bancroft, I weaved through students with my head held high and my Oakland Half Marathon shirt on. Wooโ€ฆand I was not wearing a watch! This made the run perfect. It is what I needed – ย a carefree run. And guess what happened? With a cup of coffee, a glass of water, and a nice good run, the hangover was cured!!

Tuesday was a cross training/rest day. By the time I got to the gym after school and was on the cross trainer for 30 minutes, I remembered that I promised some girls in my class that I would go to their softball game. I hightailed it out and headed to the game. So I consider tuesday more of a rest day than cross training. No worries there.

Tonight was the track. I decided on a pretty low key track workout of 8 x 400ms, but an extensive warm-up and cool-down. This was more so to shake out the rest of the race on Sunday and not go too crazy. I also wanted to work on “running on tired legs” with the cool down. I started with a 20 minute warm-up which was about 2 miles, then started into the 400s and a 20 minute cool down. Total: 6 miles.

  • 1:53, 7:13 min/mile
  • 1:50, 7:03 min/mile
  • 1:46, 6:46 min/mile
  • 1:48 , 6:59 min/mile
  • 1:50, 7:03 min/mile
  • 1:53, 7:13 min/mile
  • 1:55, 7:17 min/mile
  • 1:53, 7:13 min/mile

Gosh, this felt amazing. I was on cloud nine. Definitely would have been nice to see this happen on Sunday ha. Great turnover.

With that being said, I have a rematch with a Half Marathon and this may be sooner than we think. I have to work out the details first ๐Ÿ™‚ oh, and register. ย This time there will be no hype, no eye on a pr, just to have a GOOD TIME and control my breathing (haha). Sound good??

Since I am looking forward to a spring break with almost NO plans, how would you spend some of the days off?? I want some suggestions to make sure I have the most relaxing break hehe.

This entry was posted in Track and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to T-minus 2 days.

  1. awesome awesome 400s! if you don’t mind me asking, what is your 5K pr? That workout makes me think you might have a knack for the speedy stuff ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Lacey says:

    great track workout!!!! you should totally run some shorter races, too, it’s a nice way to break up training for any distance ๐Ÿ™‚ i love the track, it is always a cure-all confidence booster. something about the repetition and crossing the finish line again and again ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. killer track workout! and even better that you felt fantastic and happy afterward. the track definitely has that power to lift you up ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Great job on your track workout! I’ll see ya later tonight!

  5. aron says:

    SHEESH girl that is a SPEEEEDY track workout! nice job ๐Ÿ™‚ good job putting the bad race behind you, they happen, learn, move on! see you later alligator ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Sarah says:

    That sounds like a fun track workout. Have a terrific spring break!!

  7. eatspinlive says:

    I love the name of your blog! And 6 miles is amazing! I have been trying to become a better runner myself but still have a ways to go ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

