Fulfillment Friday – Going with the flow.

As I look back on my week, I noticed that there were a lot of things going on in the evenings. These things kept me busy and distracted for my spring break (which when you read this I will be minutes closer or already on it! yipppee!). I remember last year that the week before any break was an ETERNITY.

So this week’s fulfillment friday will be the fact that I went with the flow of things for the week, did not drown in the “ughhh it’s only TUESDAY mentality”, and put Sunday behind me.

1. Softball. I went to my high school girl’s softball game on Tuesday and Thursday. You read about the one on Tuesday, but yesterday I had a couple of my students rushing me out the door so we could go to the game. They got me out of my classroom by 3:30!! I really enjoy going to their games and showing support. Since it is a game I played since I was 11, I love the cheering and comraderie that softball (/baseball) provides.

2. Three feel great runs. After Sunday, I was feeling a bit blah about everything and how the half actually went. The runs that I had for this week were NOT structured in the least bit – they were more of a “figure it out when I get there” sort of thing. As you read, Monday’s recovery and Wed’s track were surefire confidence boosters and last night’s impromptu tempo didn’t either. I met up with Kristin, Tara, Aron, and Maritza for a run and we broke into our paces pretty quickly as the first 3 miles are a steady incline. After those 3 miles @ 10 min/mile, my goal was to (1) use the bathroom since I’d been sitting at that game for a bit and (2) run a 3 mile @ short tempo using the decline as my bff. The run downhill was @ a 9 min/mile, ending at an average for 9:30. Pleased. Felt amazing to have those three runs unstructured and FUN.

3. Races. Santa Cruz Half Marathon – April 11th. There’s always another race and with the theme of going with the flow, I decided to take the advantage of a “14 miler” on my calendar for Ragnar Relay and do a 13 mile race instead 🙂 My goal: to have  a freakin’ good time and enjoy Santa Cruz. I also registered for Bay to Breakers in May woo woooo.

So my fulfillment this week had more to do with running – but to be honest, after my mindset crossing the finish on Sunday, I think running and the faith to learn and move on was what did the trick for this week.

In the mix: I am going to do a march recap this weekend, answer a reader’s email about my routine as a teacher and runner, and how I spent two spring breaks in college traveling to Latin America.

What are some memories (or lack thereof) of your spring breaks in college??

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fulfillment Friday – Going with the flow.

  1. i never did anything crazy on my spring breaks (sadly i just got back from my last one a couple weeks ago!) but used that time to recharge from my crazy busyness. i think i’d need an extra week if i went to cancun or some other typical place

    enjoy spring break!! wahoo!! and awesome that you picked out a race to replace your 14 miler. i’m envious of all your racing 🙂

  2. jeri says:

    Thanks for the comment on my 5 mile race! Whoo whoo for the upcoming 1/2. I think the 1/2 holds my heart. 🙂 I added you to my reader….excited to see how it goes!

  3. BostonRunner says:

    Great job, feel good runs are great, I’ve been doing a lot of unstructured runs lately and its been so nice!

  4. kbwood says:

    i love feel good runs! which i havent had one in a WHILE! haha, loving taking a break from running tho!!!
    spring break-nothing exciting so far!

  5. I danced on a bar in Vegas for like 3 hours with my girlfriends. I also came home from that trip with a new, long-distance boyfriend. Hahahaha FAIL!

    Happy Spring Break!

Leave a Reply

