A day in the life

I received an email from a reader a little bit ago asking about my daily routine and how I am able to train, especially being a “new” teacher. I decided to write a post in response to that and since I rarely talk about teaching (come on, I think and breathe it every other hour of the day), I thought it would be a nice change to the typical running posts.

[I guess this is also applicable to any graduating senior/recent graduate who is finding themselves adjusting to the daily grind]

When I graduated from college, I WISH wish wish someone enlightened me that I would no longer be doing things on my own time – I would be set on a fairly structured schedule where accountability is key. Now, I was a Type A college student and this still took me for a surprise 🙂 It took me about a year and a half before I found myself in a schedule I could handle and just recently in a place that I like – thank you running, blogging, and my lovely friends!

So this is a typical day for me!

5:45 am – alarm goes off, shower, breakfast, read a few blogs…dilly dally.

7am – leave for work and arrive at school around 7:20ish

8:15 – 12:30 I have four classes – 2 upperclassmen, 2 freshmen – before lunch. Anything you can imagine that can happen in a classroom of teenagers probably does happen sometime during my days. This was the most difficult thing to adjust to – the go go go and being *on it* for 4 hours straight and have everything ready. [if anyone is in teaching, you know how this goes. If there is anyone who is considering teaching and would like to hear more about this, then let me know and I will send you an email separately (unless more people are curious 🙂 ]

12:30 – 2:12 Lunch/prep period . I consider this an extended lunch and I use this time to (1) breathe, and (2) get things ready for the next day.

2:12 – 3:15 6th period freshmen. If something didn’t happen earlier in the day, this is when it usually will.

3:15 – 4:15ish – This is one of the bigger variables in my day: when I leave work. I change at school into my workout clothes.

4:30 – 6:30 – Run/Workout/Drive home. The location where I run changes constantly throughout the week and the distance changes too.

6:30 – 9:30 – Dinner, vegging out, watching tv, getting things together for the next day (lunch, clothes)

930 -10 – I TRY really hard to get in bed by 10. I need my sleep 🙂

The weekends take on a different form and I usually spend a chunk of time to plan for the week and grade. This cuts down on a lot of evening work during the week.

Since you’ve seen how I structure my day, how do you plan out your week? How do you balance work and working out? Do you plan  yours meals and/or workouts too?

[Confession: I haven’t quite got to the point to plan out food for the week. Probably would be a good thing, except my appetite is sooo sporadic, but sometimes voracious after a workout ha]

____________________________

Today was an exceptional day in the life of a gal on spring break. Slept in [read: stayed out! woo], then went for a 10 miler! My plan for the 10 miles was to keep the pace very consistent around a 10 min/mile. I didn’t turn on my iPod and found that this really helped my breathing [does this happen to anyone else?? ]. I put my iPod on for 8-8.5 and realized that my breathing went nuts! I took a GU at the turn around point at mile 5 and ran into Aron! She was finishing up a 20 miler – Go Aron!! I also carried my amphipod because it can fit over my hand now. Update: my hand is almost FULLY healed since I fell a month ago. So running with my G2 helped SO MUCH. I will do this for Santa Cruz next weekend.

  • 10 miles, 9:57 min/mile.

Garmin is in the car, but I remember looking at my splits and I believe the highest mile as 10:17 min/mile and lowest was 9:40 min/mile. So consistent and it will help me to recognize the pace I want for Sunday.

After my run,  I caught the end of the students’ track meet and then got a PEDICURE! Omg. Such a great treat for the feet 🙂 (too much rhyming)  Have a great weekend!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A day in the life

  1. All my days are different, so it’s hard to plan out every day. I know I do function slightly better with more of a set daily schedule, but I’ve gotten use to not having one over the years.

  2. This was really interesting to read! I’m graduating university soon and starting in June will be working a full time 9-5ish type job so I ‘m going to have to figure out how to adjust my schedule accordingly. I think it’s going to be a big adjustment for me!

  3. em says:

    thanks for this! i am graduating in 2 years so I’m really nervous about how I am going to transition into a classroom. Thanks for your helpful post! Also, what subject do you teach and which school? (i understand if you don’t want to post it; I’m just curious!)

  4. J says:

    Its always fun to see what other peoples schedules are like! I really have a hard time wavering from my usual morning schedule!

  5. BostonRunner says:

    Thanks for a great post! I love reading about other people’s typical day! I’m in college now and one of my biggest fears of graduating is all the amazing gift of being able to choose your schedule! I love working out in the morning and I usually like to get in at least an hour, but I know that this perfect routine won’t last much longer : (
    You seem like you balance it all out really well though, I don’t know how you handle freshman and then still have energy to work out after!

  6. jeri says:

    ooooh great job on the 10. and I’m super jealous of the pedi! I gave myself an at home one, but just not the same. I definitely plan my runs out for Monday-Sunday on sunday night to make sure I won’t be left rearranging a run at the last minute. It messes w/my brain too much! 🙂

  7. Lacey says:

    full time work is a rude awakening. def was for me. i am lucky i now have a job w/ a little flexibility and that is also only 2 miles from my house. i need this b/c i just need some space and freedom… otherwise i am miserable. i don’t like being 100% accountable/ under watch.

    i like reading people’s schedules!

  8. d.a.r. says:

    I am an insane planner. It’s the biggest problem I have, but it seems to help me get a lot accomplished 🙂 The only problem occurs when my schedule gets all out of whack. Hello temper tantrum…

Leave a Reply

