Let.it.go

There are many things that a run can solve and alleviate. However, there are things you just need to deal with.

For example, a bad day, a class gone crazy, daily stresses, anticipation/anxiousness, just the normal wearing down…you get my drift…are things that a run can help out. And then there are the things that no matter how many times you run and “feel better” about something, the problem does not go away and you have to deal with it. Has this ever happened to you?

Well, I am finding myself in this really tough position. The brief details go as follows: a “one-way” friendship that stresses me beyond imagination. Wow. Writing it out makes me realize what it is doing. The friendship experiences hills and valleys, but it seems to only be on my end. I do not want to go into things in depth beyond that, because I am sure everyone has been in a friendship with someone that took more than it gave. Trust me, I know the compromise that comes with relationships, but I think it is time to let things go their natural course and not let the hand of Kerry try to control much. As a good friend told me once “Everyone in your life is meant to play a certain role. We cannot force people into roles they aren’t meant to assume.” It is time to turn things over to the One who knows how it is supposed to go.

Phew. It has weighed heavily on my mind and was a source of previous frustration that I voiced awhiles back. Have you ever dealt with a friendship that’s run its natural course?

_______________________________________________

A new leaf has turned in my mind and I feel a bit better. SO, I made many many playlists to accompany me down to Southern California – a nice 7 hour drive! With my habit-breaking of the cellie, I am taking some preventative measures and setting up a GREAT set of playlists to keep me entertained so I do not resort to anything else. I am all packed and I hope I do not forget anything!! I got lots of yummy food to munch on (might have to pack that in the back so I don’t dig in on the road). I am SOO excited. I am going to try to take pictures and such, but I am not good at documenting events through pictures! I may resort to using some other team’s photos. We will see. Okay, I am rambling.

I’m going to TRY to blog  – I have wordpress on my phone 😉 But any words of encouragement are much appreciated!

I want to wish my bloggie friends who are running BIG SUR lots of LUCK and have FUN 🙂 See ya in SoCal!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Let.it.go

  1. have a safe drive! glad you have some good tunes 🙂

    GOOD LUCK 🙂

  2. I hear what you’re saying in this post. I have been in a friendship that was a one-way street, where I just felt like I was giving, giving, and giving some more, but there was no giving going on on the other end. I admit that I didn’t take the best course of action – I just slowly stopped calling, stopped getting together, etc. until the friendship basically dissolved. Looking back I wish I had dealt with the problem upfront, but I think I was just too scared of that kind of confrontation at the time.

  3. Kristen says:

    I too once had a friendship that when I wasn’t making the effort the friendship really didn’t exist. It is so hard to let a friendship die – especially when it is with someone who helped you through a hard time or who you told a lot of personal stuff too but for me the relief of not constantly being disappointed by her was way better than the pain of trying to keep her as a friend. It doesn’t make it any easier going through it but there is a light at the end of the tunnel. It also makes you appreciate your real friends so much more.

    Have a WONDERFUL trip down south. I can’t wait to hear all about your race. You can give us some tips for next week.

  4. aron says:

    have a GREAT time this weekend!!!!! Cant wait to hear alll about it 🙂

  5. Have a fun weekend and have a blast on the relay!!!

  6. Ted says:

    Have fun tomorrow. Get some sleep tonight, you will need it.

    As for your friend, it is better to let things drift apart. Confrontations usually make things worse when it comes to things drifting apart. The confrontation may make you both uncomfortable around each other.

    You are still young and changing a lot. Your interests and attitudes are constant flux at the moment. You and your friends do not always move in the same direction. Be happy with your direction and accept your friends direction. It can hurt a lot when you realize you are losing a friend who is still around but you have to accept it and let go.

    If you think about accepting things for what they are and not how you can change them, you will find that you smile a lot more when you run.

  7. BostonRunner says:

    Wow, was this post written directly to me? I am going through the exact same thing right now and it sucks. I have no advice because I honestly don’t know what to do either. I have pretty much just given up on the friendship and accepted the fact that when we graduate I probably will never see her again. I’m beginning to be okay with this because I know I have so many other friends and family who are there for me.. but it’s still sad.. I kind of feel like I wasted my time a little?

  8. Veronica says:

    I find it SO hard to give up on people. It has taken a long time to realize that sometimes there is never anything wrong in a friendship, sometimes people just grow up and grow apart!

Leave a Reply

