Ragnar Relay Recap: Re-focusing

When I was at Ragnar relay, the time away from my apartment was the first in months since I went home for Christmas. When I returned from NY, the past few months were spent on running. Therefore, the time spent in the car and running in southern cal allowed me to think –  a lot – about all different things. I alluded to the fact that running is not the solution to all issues and there were a couple difficult conversations that I had to have with myself. These things are nothing to worry about, folks 🙂 just things like career, friends, life..etc.  This past week “off” from training allowed me to re-focus my energy on things I have not been very good at balancing or paying very much attention. In doing so, I had a couple really great conversations with a few of my closest friends in the Bay area. The result of these conversations helped clear the mind and gain support for what I need to do.

Difficult Convo #1: As some may know, Teach for America is a two year program, which means my time commitment is technically “over” after this school year, but one of the conversations that I had with myself is “why have I decided to stay with teaching??” In the fall, I will be returning to the classroom and as much as I am SO excited to see what is in the future, I am scared. I think what scares me the most is not really having a time-line ahead of me. Things seem pretty indefinite, while in the past there has been a date and time where things sort of wrap up – 4 years for hs, 4 for college, 2 for my teaching program…etc. Also, what scares me is that I may not be returning back to school for the medical field and that has been an identify I’ve stuck with since sophomore year of HS. Rather, is Bay area where I am meant to be? Time will tell, even if it does scare the crap out of me.

Difficult Convo #2: As a teacher, it has been difficult to meet, well, others who aren’t teachers. Although my teacher friends are absolutely wonderful, it wouldn’t be such a bad idea to get a change of scenery. Right? In an attempt to branch out, I signed up for a couple volunteer opportunities that I will talk about after I do them this week. We will see if there are some people my age. 🙂 BUT, the blog has been a FANTASTIC way of meeting people and speaking of, I have a blog meet-up tonight that I will tell you about later. I guess I grouped this under a difficult conversation because it involves letting go of a rather stress-filled friendship. So, that was a source of mental struggle as I dealt with that. Thank you to my friends who have listened to me and given advice.

If you moved to a new area, how would you meet new people?

ANYWAYS, let me tell you about my RUNS this weekend!

Saturday – 10 miles at Sawyer Camp. I didn’t bring my watch because this was the first long run since the relay. I didn’t want to push it in case there was a lingering injury that hadn’t presented itself. Well, all’s clear! It felt GREAT even if I did take it a bit slower. No iPod, no watch. Damn, I could get used to that. To be honest, I think my training plan called for 20 sec/mile more than half marathon pace…so I am estimating that is where it’s at. So like a 10:20ishhh.

Sunday – 4 miles of HILLS. I hit these hills HARD and was definitely wiped out at the end. I want to incorporate some hill work into this training plan. This was supposed to be a “recovery run” but when I realized where our group was meeting, I thought it a perfect time to test the waters in a hill workout. I had avoided hill workouts with my IT band for months, but I am feeling good.

Speaking of training plans, I registered for America’s Finest Half Marathon in San Diego, CA on Aug 15th. Yes, I know…sounds HOT, but as listed as one of the top half marathons in the country, I knew it worked perfectly into a 15 week training plan that I am SO excited to begin. This will be my focus for the next few months. Plus, another road trip to southern Cal?..couldn’t pass THAT up!

I will leave you with a couple pictures of how I spent my Saturday. I used this weekend as a retreat. Running fit perfectly into that plan, but so did going to the LAKE! I brought a book and was there for a bit of relaxing.

But also played in the sand…obvs.


Thanks for reading through my difficult convos piece 🙂

This entry was posted in Race Recaps and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ragnar Relay Recap: Re-focusing

  1. Naomi says:

    I run at Sawyers Camp a lot too. Hopefully I’ll see you out there one of these Saturdays!

  2. as a kid who is facing graduation i totally have been having difficult convos lately myself. and i wish i had answers! if you get any tips for meeting new people pass them my way. i know that i’ll make friends anywhere i go but it’s been so long since i met my hometown friends and 4 years since i had to make new friends at school that i’m always afraid i’ll forget haha!

    sending good vibes your way that things work out and you can find some answers 🙂

  3. BostonRunner says:

    I love thinking while running. I know running can’t actually solve problems but its a great way for me to gain some perspective and allows me to slow my brain down and think clearly.
    I totally see what you mean about being scared not having a “time line” anymore. I never thought about life after college like that, but it’s true. Once you start working, you just sort of go.. there isn’t an end to the year really, or a break, there’s no end point unless you make one. I think you’ll get used to it though as time passes.
    As for making friends in new places, this is so tough! I don’t know how people do it. When I first came to college, I was like “I forget how to make friends!” I guess I would try to take some classes in the area, yoga, cooking, etc? Or join a running group. I always feel like my best friends I met in the most random places, you know?

  4. Kerry, it is fantastic that you are continuing to work in a school that needs you very much, even after your Teach for America contract is up. And, medical school will always be there…even if you decide to go back to it 5 or 10 years down the road.

    As for meeting friends, I truly think that it is the hardest thing to learn to do as an adult with an adult job. As I’ve alluded to on my blog, my best friends here in my small town are middle aged men. It’s weird. For sure. And not what is normal for a 26 year old, but it is what it is. And I’m happy. All of my friends have been met through triathlon training. I think that is the best way to meet ppl–through hobbies!

  5. It sounds like you really needed that week to re-group. How is that book, btw?

Leave a Reply

