Bay to Breakers Race Recap

Last year I missed the Bay to Breakers to attend my brother’s graduation. Priorities people.

This year I was not about to miss it. A crummy Saturday did not deter me from getting up and going today, although I can say there were moments of ughhh this am when the alarm went off. However, when I got to the BART to go into the city, I was happy I chose to go. Everyone who knows I am a runner and live near San Francisco always ask “Have you done Bay to Breakers?” Now I can say I have 🙂

I only knew a couple people attending, as many of my runner friends had events this weekend. I got to the starting line at 7:45 am and was immediately greeted with Tortilla warfare. Yes, those are tortillas flying in the air. There was a guy behind me dressed as a tetrus block and said that people kept getting it inside the top of his outfit.  I also saw a man climbing on top of the portapotties.

Then he had difficulty getting down.

This was in front of me while…

this was behind me. Definition of cluster$%# right there. I finally saw the start sign and crossed about 20 minutes later.

I was really bad at taking photos as I went through the course. I went at a super slow pace and well, time is not the issue with this race. I took in the sights as well as Hayes Street Hill (omg).

Sorry! All I had was my phone, but this blurry picture is awesome. Because obviously I think blurry is sexy. The miles passed realllll slow and my splits were all over the place. The beginning 4 miles were around an 10-11 min/mile due to the hill and the CROWD. The whole race was a bottleneck, but that’s what happens when there are tens of thousands in the streets not really running haha. The last few miles in the park, I picked up the pace and was at a 8:30-9 min/mile to consider this run my tempo for the week. Overall, this was a really fun spectator race and I had so much fun seeing the costumes (or lack there of – 32 nudists by mile 3!). Race time doesn’t matter, but for the record it was 1:20 @ 10:40 pace (damn hayes hill at 12 min/mile! hahaha) Any which way of enjoying this race is fun! Maybe next year I’ll dress up…hmm…

_____________________________________

Thanks for the support on my fulfillment friday. I went to Church for the first time since Easter today. Crazy how those few weeks were the ones that I was struggling in. There are a lot of decisions that I am in the process of making for the upcoming school year that have stressed me out tremendously and I just needed some time to turn things over to Him is what I needed. The homily was centered around just “being” and listening. Gosh, did I need to hear that. I will make that a focus of my week to just listen and not worry.

This entry was posted in Race Recaps and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Bay to Breakers Race Recap

  1. so jealous! I am from CA and wanted to do Bay to Breakers for FOREVER and never could. But next year, NO EXCUSES.

  2. Sounds like a fun race!!!

    It’s great that you were able to make it to church. Isn’t it crazy when you leave feeling as if the sermon was spoken specifically for you? Happens to me all the time! 🙂

  3. BostonRunner says:

    Great job on the race!! I love that blurry picture – so cool! It kind of makes me dizzy if I look at it too long though haha

  4. Awesome job! I have always wanted to experience this race.

  5. can you believe in all my years living in the bay area i’ve never done bay to breakers? disgrace! next year for sure…all my friends do it every year but i’ve never gotten my act together to do it! it was funny though, i was working out at the gym sunday morning and these 2 women came in dressed up as superwoman and i was like huh? turns out they had just finished the race. made a lot of sense. congrats on making it! that blurry pic IS awesome

  6. chasingcasey says:

    Hey! I did bay 2 breakers too! I learned about your blog from Stef at More to Life than Lettuce. Its great that there are bay area bloggers out there. I’m in the east bay. The bottle necking was crazy there were so many people, but fun nonetheless. I’m relatively new to blogging, but have been reading for a while now. Just wanted to say hey 🙂

  7. a marathoner says:

    Great post. Seems like you kept the right attitude despite the insane crowding. At some point you just throw goal pacing out of the window and try to enjoy the experience as much as possible. You’re getting speedier! All that work is paying dividends. Keep rolling!

Leave a Reply

