Back to the basics

Sigh. See Jane Run Half Marathon. Well. I crossed the finish line. And that’s about all I did correct during the whole race. Oh and drink lots of yummy champagne afterwards. I’d be faking it if I said that my plan of “having a fun run” would get me through it. Nope. Lack of training in May paid its price and I felt it. I turned my garmin off at mile 3 when my hip flexors seemed to freeze up, the clouds parted, sun blazed all while Alameda’s humidity index hit a number we have yet to see all year. So there are many, many external factors that I could point the finger at, but it all comes down to the fact that my heart wasn’t into the race from the very beginning and I couldn’t face my stubborn self to admit that and do the 5k instead.

As a result, I trekked onwards and accomplished my personal worst. Bah. I don’t have stats and I wish my time wasn’t recorded. I wanted to cut the chip off of my shoe, but they needed to be returned 🙂

Negative Note: The whole damn race.

Positive Note: Legs felt good during today’s run. So the recovery was fast.

I’ve learned that one really, really needs to be sold on their training plan. I won’t go into that again, because I did a pretty good job at venting about that in my previous post. There are no quick fixes and short cuts for success when it comes to improving in your running.

I’ve reached out to many runners who did not start running from the womb, but instead those who started with bodies they previously thought were incapable of exceeding their running goals and were not necessarily deemed “runner’s bodies”. Oh, and trust me, I have talked to those who have spent many many many years running and might need a pause button when asked about running 🙂 Both advice seem to be pointing towards something I addressed a few months ago – building up your base mileage gradually. My weekly mileage on this new plan is nothing extraordinary and it’s taking a toll on me mentally and physically.

My plan is to revert back to what I was doing in February and March. I was slowly building up my mileage to a place where I was seeing visible results.  I threw in some 10ks and then got “race happy” as we can say. I already have the San Francisco Half Marathon in July and America’s Finest in August. Besides those, I am going to back off of races until late October. I hope that by focusing on bringing my mileage back up and cutting back on the races, I can see the results I want in October. That gives me a few months to bring the mileage up and then a few months to train from there.

[Disclosure: I apologize for appearing so wishy-washy in the last 6 weeks. I’ve thought about cutting out blogging because of how frustrated I felt with the back and forth nature I was experiencing. This time, I feel pretty confident in the path I am heading and summer is around the corner. ]

OK so what about running, eh? Today I revisited the course I ran on Saturday in Alameda. I took off at 7 miles @ 10:08 pace. I brought my stop watch and knew the 7 mile route. I finished harder than I began and that felt amazing. I am quite excited to start some morning runs before school since the sun is rising earlier and well, this week doesn’t require much planning.

So in true Kerry fashion “onwards”  I say as I move on from the race and do not look back.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Back to the basics

  1. Naomi says:

    The nice thing about running is that there’s always another run the next day! So glad we finally got to meet!

  2. ellen says:

    Hi Kerry,
    I really enjoyed this post. I don’t think your posts are diminished at all when you’re feeling discouraged. I could totally relate to how you felt at the See Jane Run half. That’s how I felt when I ran the Big Sur/Monterrey half (which I bagged at the 10k mark-I just couldn’t get a rhythm or pace going.) Unlike you, it took me 2 weeks to move on and am still nervous about doing the SF half-like it really matters in the BIG picture. I think it’s amazing that you have so many interesting insights about yourself and what part running takes in your life. If I wrote a blog about my running, it would read something like this:

    Sunday-long run, wondered if I’d make it to the end, maybe I’ll walk eight minutes/run 1 minute instead of the opposite which I had planned on doing, whined a lot.

    Monday-rest-polish my buffed calves-give thanks for the rest day.

    Tuesday-I am supposed to cross train today, should go to the gym since I am paying for my membership, I wonder if I can squeeze it in after my nap.

    Wednesday-track workout-Stephanie pushed us really hard, it’s amazing that I still like her. Had a couple of beers after to regain the calories I may have lost.

    etc. etc.

    You remain studly despite a crummy race.

  3. aron says:

    running is a sport of patience, there are no shortcuts and no easy ways to get better. its all about putting in the work, which you know 🙂 just gotta keep getting out there and it will click!

  4. sarah says:

    Thanks for sharing the race report, and we all have days like that :O Make sure to pat yourself on the back & remind yourself that you can and will get stronger as a runner!!

  5. Stef says:

    One of the best things about running is that we get to leave the last run behind us when we head out the door.
    It also sounds like you have a good plan layed out for success in your upcoming races. I’m also planning on doing AFC. Maybe we’ll run by each other!

  6. I have to say, I actually really appreciate your sharing about this race. There are bound to be discouraging runs and races, but like you have shown, you definitely learn from those experiences…and you’re helping all of your readers learn too!

  7. d.a.r. says:

    Not every race is perfect and not every run feels good, thanks for sharing this!! Good luck moving forward!

  8. BostonRunner says:

    Sorry to hear about the half marathon. Don’t let it get you down for too long though, there’s always the next race. What I loved about not doing as well as I had hoped in my half marathon the other week, was that it really humbled me and I have greater respect for long distances.

  9. Pingback: San Francisco Half Marathon | Running on Faith

  10. Pingback: Week 6: San Francisco Half Marathon | Running on Faith

Leave a Reply

