Humbled.

Humbled, for sure.

Last night was my students’ graduation. I remember this event last year as one of the moments of light or justification or meaning for the year’s work. Seeing the students on the stage was a driving force for how I would conduct myself this year. I worked knowing that the daily work would be for their shining moment and bringing them to a place where graduation had meaning for them. The past six weeks have been incredibly busy (since returning from the Relay) and I just need to trek through the next two in order to get that relief.

I alluded to this before, but I was in search for a new place during the month of May. This created much stress, but for all good reason because I have a place! And I am currently in the packing and moving stage of it. I should be all nestled into my new location by the end of the month 🙂 Oh, and I am moving classrooms too. So, basically everything I own on the west coast is getting a move somehow. This shall take some getting used to, but I am very excited about these changes (although getting to that place required the stress headache I had a few weeks ago).

In other news  – my running? I looked back at my earlier posts for some light shed on how I recovered from my right IT. Without getting too apprehensive about things, I have major doubts about San Francisco Half Marathon. A huge part of me does not even want to place it on a calendar at the thoughts that  I should be pushing myself HARD to get there. With it four weeks away, I need to step back and focus on a healthy recovery of my left IT and not worry about getting long runs in before that date. What is even more upsetting is not being able to compete in the race I’ve had my heart set on since April – America’s Finest- in August.

We will see. I had to cut my typing short there because I don’t want to start pulling the plug on that thought quite yet. So what have my runs consisted of? I did 5 miles on Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday for a total of 20 miles for the week. That is not incredibly horrible. I have been running, just not at the place I’d like to be. Only on Friday did I stop and walk for a bit and then continue running. So I guess the concept is shorter distances and no more than twice in a row. I believe this is what I did in January, then when things felt better and there was no stopping, then I reevaluated.

Injuries can be incredibly humbling.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Humbled.

  1. Good for you for listening to your body and prioritizing your healing! And congrats on the new place and good luck with all of your upcoming moves! 🙂

  2. It is always hard to stop to heal yourself, but it’s a great decision. Better to back off now and fix yourself rather than wait until down the road when the injurie can’t be fixed. Hang in there. You’ll be back better than ever.

  3. amen to that last sentence!! hang in there though and be patient! (easier said than done, i know!)

  4. jeri says:

    I’m kind of going to agree about the San Fran 1/2, but only b/c with my IT band issues, I know that hills DESTROY them, so me thinks that hilly San Fran would do the same. Is there anything else nearby that’s flatter that could work?

  5. Thanks, Jeri. My best bet is to hold off of that race and look ahead to August 15th when America’s Finest would be. It is flatter and faster. If I realize in a few weeks that that won’t happen either, then I do not want to push it and look to the fall.

Leave a Reply

