Pulling the plug

I “ran” for the first time today in a week. It consisted of a walk/run of 4 miles.

Verdict = pulling the plug on summer races.

Both SF half and America’s Finest Half.

I was convinced of SF half last week, but not until today did it register that I would not feel fit for AF. I understand the “go out there and give it a shot” mentality, but that’s what screwed me over at See Jane Run. I’ve replayed the moment where I mentally went ka-put at mile 3 in that half and play the “what if” game if I had a DNF instead of a finish with an injury. I know what you are thinking and I cannot play that game. In hindsight, that would have been the best move and I learned that lesson the hard way.

SO yeah. I wanted to put that out there. Now there is a HUGE weight off of my shoulders. I can really begin to recover and give myself the time I need to do so.

That was tough to admit. Virtual hugs appreciated.

Good thing I have a beer (s) and a ticket to the Giants/Red Sox game with Naomi to cheer me up πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Pulling the plug

  1. BostonRunner says:

    Sending hugs your way!! Sorry to hear you have to pull out of the half, but I think you’re doing the right thing to give yourself adequate rest and time to get back into running slowly. Have fun at the game and hope you get better soon!

  2. ((hugs)) oh no! major bummer but you are doing the right thing and safe thing for your body. obviously very hard mentally but if it’s what your body needs then it’s what your body needs. way to honor the rest πŸ™‚

  3. d.a.r. says:

    Hugs for you 😦 I just spent the last two months dealing with this and had to pull the plug on my last two races. Totally stunk, but it was the right decision (as hard as it was to admit). Hang in there!!

  4. gavrielski says:

    I know this must be a frustrating, painful time for you, but I’m sending you support and wishes for a speedy, healthy recovery! All the best to you. Hope the move went well!

  5. I know how frustrating this is, and how much it sucks, but good for you for making the best choice for you and your body! ultimately it will be SO much better in the long run! good luck!

  6. I’m sure you are feeling an interesting combination of frustration and relief right now. Just remember that you are doing the best thing for your body, and you’ve got lots of readers who believe in you! πŸ™‚

  7. Dear Kerry,

    It was good to see you on Saturday. I am sorry about your injury.

    Your life as a runner is just beginning. You are learning wisdom and patience.

    Time is with you. Let’s talk one of these days!

    Coach

  8. aron says:

    you are a smart girl… this was definitely the right move. you will be back at it soon but like you know, you just can’t force it with injuries. taking this extra pressure off will be good for you though πŸ™‚

  9. jeri says:

    You know your body the best. Make sure you take the time you need to heal properly, get back into the swing of things, and then once you have your base back, you can start eyeing some races. πŸ™‚

  10. Pingback: Running on faith: A play on words | Running on Faith

  11. Pingback: San Francisco Half Marathon | Running on Faith

Leave a Reply

