Glimpse into eating…

With two weeks of no running, (and well, June being pretty absent with running all together) my eating habits are back to normal. For the past few months, I felt one of two things at all moments of the day – (1) an endless pit or (2) zero hunger. There was no comfortable middle which made one of my favorite things to do (grocery shop!) a nightmare. I never knew what I felt like for dinner until moments before or sometimes I would develop weird cravings as I was running. This made creating meals very unpredictable and would do wonders to my grocery bill. As much as I wanted to “plan” meals, like many people I know do, I never knew what would fit the want for that day. Le sigh. My body and I were in the process of adjusting.

Over the past few weeks, the portions have decreased and the normal hunger curve has returned. I am sure there are many other reasons for this as school has ended and I am a human being again. For the time being, we will attribute this “normalcy” as I’ll call it to a must needed change in schedule and stress on the body.

I never do this. And I’ll admit that it did feel weird to set this up and take the picture. But, I thought it was interesting how easy it was for me to write out a list, go to the store, stick to the list, and come home.

The list:

  • Bananas
  • Strawberries
  • Blueberries
  • Romaine Lettuce
  • Avocado
  • Peppers
  • Onions
  • Cucumbers
  • Tomatoes
  • Oats
  • Half n’ Half
  • Eggs
  • Veggie Broth
  • Trail Mix
  • Ciabatta mini-roll
  • Quorn Chic’n Patties
  • Quorn Meatless crumbles
  • Flowers 🙂

Now, this is NOT all that I eat in a week. The produce, well yes. But I have other staples in my pantry such as Israeli couscous, sweet potato, brown rice, tortillas, chobani yogurt, black beans…etc.

Also, the move allowed me to clean through my former pantry, refrigerator, and freezer.

This is just a glimpse of what I have stocked up on to fuel myself, especially before and after a work out.

What are some staples or must-haves that always make it on your grocery list?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Glimpse into eating…

  1. BostonRunner says:

    Definitely bananas and apples. I also always have to have oatmeal pasta and peanut butter around : )
    Glad your eating/life has returned to normal

  2. gavrielski says:

    Hey there! I hope the move went well and you’re enjoying your new place! I was laughing as I read this because my weekly grocery list looks almost exactly like yours. Staples are definitely fresh fruits and vegetables (LOTS!), 0% Greek yogurt, almond milk, and cereal. I hope you’re enjoying your summer! 🙂

  3. I can´t get much at my “grocery store” but everytime I go I get canned beans, long life milk, and I usually have rice around. I go through a ton of peanut butter too. The things I could NOT live without in Mozambique are definitely bananas and peanut butter!

Leave a Reply

