A year ago

California International Marathon – Dec 6th, 2009.

This race was pre-blog.

Pre-reality.

I say pre-reality because it was after this race that I realized my body was quietly revolting and was not made of steel. It required patience and care. The days of challenging myself without proper preparations was over and the one-size-fits-all approach to training was over. My body is not a one size fits all model, nor an equation.

I learned many many (gosh, so much) things about training and spent months applying different approaches, but at the end of the day, the lesson learned this year was patience.

I am so excited to return to the California International Marathon as part of a relay team. I will be running the first leg, so I still get to experience the jitters and cheers at the beginning, along with the crowd 🙂 This will be the first time that I’ve been a participant in the same course! It will be exciting to be around all those, but with less on the line and to enjoy the company of teammates and friends as spectators, and even become a spectator once my part of the race is over.

A lot changes in a year. In this case it took a whole year for me to see what was working its way into my life and how it would all play out. I feel as if it is a pendulum that has been swinging from one extreme to the other. Now, it has settled somewhere in the middle and I am okay with that.

In coming to terms that I am different from others who are running,  I’ve found myself trying all different forms of exercise and training – yoga, kickboxing, lifting, spinning, and most recently pilates – to keep that balance where it should be…for me.

Even with an occasional visit from a flared IT band, I feel more healthy, fit, and lean than I did last year while training for a marathon. I am figuring out how to take care of myself and I feel human when things are sore after a workout.

Good luck to those who are running in the California International Marathon! I am blessed to know such a diverse running community in the Bay area that is unbelievably supportive.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A year ago

  1. You rock Kerry! I believe that patience and humility have both become stronger for you and I applaud that.

    I would love to see you absorb the wisdom from your older running friends and be willing to share the zeal of your youth.

    We miss you! Come run with us!

  2. Tara says:

    Glad I got to see you at the expo! Hope your relay leg went well! 🙂

  3. Pingback: San Francisco Half Marathon | Running on Faith

Leave a Reply

