#6reverb: make

Prompt: What was the last thing you made? What materials did you use? Is there something you want to make, but you need to clear some time for it?

I.have.made.tons.of.things.

Paper mache clip boards. [using magazine cutouts]. Posters [motivational, scientific, curricular]. Visuals [of the heart, digestive system, nervous]. Tests. Lesson Plans. Seating charts. Classwork…

Oh, you mean in my free, non-teacher life.

In college, I had developed an art in picture frame making. It first started as painting carved wood frames. Then, it became adding scrapbooking paper to the painted frame, then it became more about the pictures I was placing inside of the frame.

Two years ago for Christmas, I went through the hundreds of pictures that I took while driving across country. I analyzed them and chose the best and most memorable. Then, I ordered them and bought a collaged frame. I placed the pictures selectively and presented the gift to my dad who made the journey with me. Included in these pictures were ones from Yellowstone, rest stops in South Dakota, Lake Tahoe, Mount Rushmore, Grand Tetons, and Jackson Hole.

It has been a while since I purposely took pictures to reflect upon, edit, and present as a gift. This is a passion worth pursuing. in fact, it has stopped me in the middle of runs to stop and say “I want to capture that. If only I had a camera.”

In conversation, I mentioned the ideal weekend of taking an afternoon to photograph and returning home to sift through to select a couple of my favorites. If anything from thinking about this prompt, it has made me realize that spending time to capture images must be something I dedicate more time towards this new year.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #6reverb: make

  1. Tara says:

    I love making photo collages! Especially giving them as gifts! It’s so fun to look back and brings back good memories 🙂

Leave a Reply

