#7reverb: community

Prompt: Where have you discovered community, online or otherwise, in 2010? What community would you like to join, create or more deeply connect with in 2011?

A year ago during winter vacation, I sat confused wondering how such a social girl in college could have such difficulty finding a group of friends after college. I made it a goal to set out to put myself into situations to meet others. Cue two emails that would alter the rest of my year.

I e-mailed Aron asking if there was a way to meet up in the Bay Area for a run. She asked if I had a blog. I thought and thought…

I e-mailed Bobbi responding with a big yes to her Ragnar Relay team request. She asked if I had a blog. I thought and thought…

…and decided to start my own.

Aron responded with a formed meet-up of Bay Area blogger/runners, later stating that she didn’t know if I was a serial killer and waited until others were running too 🙂

Aron’s Blogrunner meet-up in the spring

Bobbi responded with the address I needed to send my check in to be a member of her team.

Ragnar Relay 2010

..and my year changed.

If anyone of you followed me from the beginning, I started this blog when I was starting back up with running again post-CIM. My “online” community quickly became an actual group of individuals with shared interests and goals.

See Jane Run 2010

Tara and I at Oakland Half 2010

Maritza and I at Emerald 12k Across the Bay (come back and run it again with me 🙂 )

An evening run in inner east bay

Casual blogger meet-ups became planned after work runs which became planned races. I value and appreciate all that the running and blogging world has brought to me. In 2011, I cannot wait until I have more evening time since cross country season is over, the sun begins to stay out later, and I resume regular running and hopefully can meet up with these ladies. I follow and congratulate all of their accomplishments. I even had the opportunity to be a spectator for the first time during San Francisco Half Marathon when I had to back out due to ITB.

They continued to encourage me even when I needed to take a step back. THANK YOU LADIES.

Since we are on the topic, the only “official” item on my 2011 calendar is the So Cal Ragnar Relay with a majority of my 2010 team. We were 12 strangers stuck in a van for 36 hours. I was the youngest of the crew and absorbed so much from being around the veteran runners. I am so excited to see them again in April and have another fun-filled adventure!

The community that I would like to more deeply connect with is the one I spent months with in the beginning of 2010.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to #7reverb: community

  1. aron says:

    haha you are totally a serial killer 😉 pshhh furthest thing from it! SO GLAD you emailed me and so glad we have become friends this year.. although I do hope to see more of you in the near future 😉

  2. em says:

    Kerry,
    I haven’t commented in a while, but I still read your blog! I’m loving your reverb reflections- you’re so insightful.
    I too have had difficulty finding a community in which I feel that I fit in, but it’s so true that just one person can make all the difference!
    p.s. If you’re ever in SF, I would love to run with you!

  3. Yay for runs in 2010 and I hope I get to join you for more runs in 2011, even though I’m far. Walnut Creek half? LOL

Leave a Reply

