#8reverb: different

Prompt: Think about what makes you different and what you do that lights people up. Reflect on all the things that make you different – you’ll find they’re what make you beautiful.

Sensitivity.

Might be an understatement. I am convinced that there is a reflex that prevents me from stopping the appearance of tearing up. But, it isn’t only about the tears. It is about feeling.

And I’m proud of it.

Everyone has their way of dealing with emotions – mine just is not as hidden. That’s fine. I’ll talk about it. Always have.

In doing so, I also have a way of empathizing with others who find they need to speak about what is going on within them too. A sensitive individual understands the need for a listening partner. Appreciates them.

Humor

I have a way of entertaining myself – ask my roommates. They learned that quickly. I appreciate a good laugh. I have no problem making a fool of myself, especially in my classroom. Regaining the attention of the class with facial expressions, that’s me! Although I do not deny that I come off as type A, those who spend enough time with me realize that the reason I have not drove myself up a wall is because of this sense of humor.

Self-respect

I have belief in my own integrity and dignity. This faith in oneself has sustained me during the pursuit of tasks I, at times, felt impossible to accomplish. Not only in tasks, but in morals and opinions, my confidence is there. Character is in how one carries themselves. This is very difficult at times and I am by no means perfect. I try very hard to maintain integrity by making sure my words, actions, and beliefs line up.

Ok. Funny enough, I got tired of talking about myself and what makes me different. I know there are many things that make me different from another. I have no trouble accepting the unique factor and embracing it.

 


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

