#13reverb: Action

Prompt: When it comes to aspirations, its not about ideas. It’s about making ideas happen. What’s your next step?

A huge thank you to those who either emailed me, commented, or texted me about my announcement 🙂

I’ve been having an enjoyable time skipping around these reverb prompts. For someone who caught onto them late in the game, I like finding ones that I WANT or really NEED to answer.

It is a really exciting time for me as I open up the doors to possibilities and just enjoy the journey as I make them happen. I’m digging this prompt as a result as I spent a few days during my winter break to get organized and establish a timeline of things that need to get done in order for graduate school to happen!

Obviously I could answer this question applying it to ANYTHING that I have my eyes set upon. My mind is always working and reflecting on my goals with running, but I thought I’d share some next steps that I am plotting out when it comes to gearing up for applications!

  1. GRE. Test date is June 30th. Having taken the MCAT twice, I know what it takes to sit down and study. Alone. On a Saturday.  [any advice on this test is greatly appreciated!!]
  2. Prerequisite Classes. Since I was on a Pre-Medical path in college, I have MANY of the courses that I need that are required by physical therapy schools. However, there are a small handful (about 4) that I will need to take before the fall. I am already registered for two during the spring – one on-line, one in-class. I will take the other in the summer time. There is a possibility that it may over-lap with GRE studying, but I will suck it up and deal! By that time, teaching will be over and I can FOCUS more!
  3. Volunteering. A good application has experience volunteering. Since I am VERY interested in Sports medicine and working with athletes, I know of a couple places that I can contact to see if I can volunteer or shadow a PT at their office. In addition, there are a few hospitals that have specific programs for pre-PTs who need volunteer hours! Most of this will be done in the summer when I have a much more flexible schedule.
  4. Finances. During school, I won’t be able to work full-time. Although I know I will have to take out many loans to my name, establishing an emergency fund over the next year and a half will be critical and allow a little wiggle room (ya know, to pay for race fees and all 🙂 ). Budgeting will be tight. Having recently gotten stable with very little college loans left, I know this is feasible  if I am more conscious of my expenses and what I chose to spend money on.

With these next few months being very structured, I needed to plan my time wisely! In order to help me do that, I’ve enlisted the help of my google calendar and scheduled tasks list to keep me accountable. I am also, and always have been, a paper planner. I have a notebook that I’ve kept for the past few years since moving out here that has become a place to jot goals, to-dos, ideas, and random musings. But I got even fancier! Thanks to a post on Amber’s blog, I purchased a new life planner that is everything I’ve wanted in one. Check this lovely out!

The front and back cover are laminated for extra protection. The color schemes are adorable and there is free personalization.

…the fun quotes at the beginning of each month!

Plastic sealed bag in the back! I never keep track of receipts, but now I have a place to store them and sift through them at during the week. I loved the personalized gift tags that came!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to #13reverb: Action

  1. ellen says:

    Your calendars are giving me a headache. Go have a beer.

  2. Naomi says:

    are we twins? your calendar looks just like mine! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Happy p(l)ace « Running on Faith

  4. I’m a little late commenting on this BUT YAY! I’m glad you love your planner so much! I don’t know what I would do without mine 🙂

  5. Pingback: To-Don’t | Running on Faith

Leave a Reply

