Wanted: gymbition.

Before running, all through high school and college I swore by the gym. Hours aimlessly in the gym was how I spent time. I was not efficient or productive and gosh, I had little idea what I was doing. The advice I received was based from a workout section of a magazine. Instead of being interested in the content of the workout, I would stress more over the amount of time that I was there.

I’ve written about the overemphasis my body has seen over cardio-based workouts. Try years of that.

I might add that I’m proud that I’ve taken the first steps in core strengthening and being patient with progress. And I’ve also done a lot of talk here over the lack of strength training in my workouts. That’s what it has been since the summer – lots of talk!

I have this current gym membership and I rarely use it. I’ve found workouts I LOVE outside of a gym facility, but they do not provide the weight training that I know my body needs to make any progress forward. Plus, when I actually get going into a routine (summer time), then I go and I love it.

But I’ve lost my gymbition. And for each day, I feel like I throw money away. I didn’t go once in January. I’m currently bound by a year contract that I utilized when workouts were crunched in during coaching season and the gym membership had its use. I saved a lot from a whole year instead of month to month. Who knew I’d fall off the boat right when the season ended?I’m afraid that breaking a contract will incur high fees that I might as well use in paying the membership out. I vent.

So what’s my point? I know myself well enough that by laying this all out here in writing is the first step in getting it going.

But I need your help. I don’t want to go back to those high school and college days of time consumption. I wish I could go back to completely free mornings and evenings like in college, but I’m time constrained! I am a newbie in weights.

Do you have any recommendations? Websites? Your own workouts and progress for me to check out? Email me or comment!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wanted: gymbition.

  1. Marci says:

    I know the feeling. Strength training relly does help in so many ways. I write out a workout/gym schedule for the week. Even if you are pressed for time- try and get time INSIDE the gym for 1/2 hour, 45 mine etc- and write it in your calendar. SOmetimes I do Bodyrocktv.com exercises. Lots of Plyometrics but the woman on the site is fabulous and you get an awesome workout at home. The hard part is getting there…but just remember how strong, accomplished and full you will feel afterwards.

    • Marci – I checked out the bodyrocktv exercises and I think I’ve seen that chick on youtube doing videos before when I wanted to look up how to do certain exercises. I am really enjoying getting back to the gym now that I’ve been going.

  2. Elysie says:

    Hi, I just found your blog and wanted to give a little encouragement for getting to the gym and especially doing weights because it’s something I struggle with as well. I have found that forcing myself to just go, even if it’s for 10 minutes (and so far, it hasn’t ever been that short once I’m there) helps.
    For weights, I write down a workout to do ahead of time. I’ve searched blogs for ideas of new moves, but I let myself start with very simple, basic moves just to get started. Then I add in a couple new exercises each time I go. I aim to get a full body weights workout in 2 to 3 times a week and I usually spend 25-30 minutes doing it. I really like writing down what I’m going to do ahead of time. I just write down about 8 exercises on a little slip of paper and then follow that at the gym.
    Hope this helps, and remember, even if it’s just 10 minutes of basic weight moves like lunges, squats and bicep curls, you have to get started somewhere and soon you’ll build your confidence and your interest and be doing more. Good luck!

    • Thanks, Elysie! I thought about your comment today when I went to weight train and sorta felt like I was throwing things together as a newbie. I know that overtime I will figure out the best routine for me and assemble some resources in the meantime! It is like starting out running and not knowing the in’s and out’s of what works, what doesn’t, and what’s best for you!

Leave a Reply

