Running friends > running solo

I find my weekday runs are almost always with a partner or more. This has not always been the case. I used to only do long runs with a group and the week day runs alone. It seems over the past year this has flip flopped! I rarely get to do my long runs with a group on the weekend, because of class and other commitments over the weekend. I do get a long run in, but it is hard to predict when. During the week, I have an outline of what I want to do, then check in with others to see if they want to run too.

Running with someone has become tremendously beneficial! Here’s why!

Allows time to check in and catch up with friends when I am surrounded by a busy week.

Knowing I have someone waiting for me means I wake up at 5am to drive and run by 5:45am and do not hit snooze.

Aron and I after our early AM run last week

I accumulate really cool rewards for attending lululemon run club each week! So far, I’ve ran 25+ miles with them so I got a neat pair of socks. (Review to come!)

Soaking wet after Leap Across the Creek celebration for St. Patty’s day! Totally sporting ND Irish wear ๐Ÿ™‚

I get to meet new runners in the area and hear about other cool workouts (even non running), events that are happening, and hear about their stories and experience with running!

Sweaty post-run picture at Berkeley’s Lululemon Run Club

Pre-Run (and dry!) picture at Walnut Creek’s Lululemon Run Club

I do not always get sucked into my regular pace, but am challenged to keep up and am pulled by runners that are faster than me.


What has been your experience with running with a group or committing to a running date?

[Edited to add: I still enjoy solo runs for SURE. ๐Ÿ™‚ ]

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Running friends > running solo

  1. Aron says:

    I love getting to see you every week at the lulu runs and also loved our morning run! Definitely need to do that again soon ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

