Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Happy [belated] St. Patrick’s Day! As I proudly wore my green apparel to teach yesterday, students said, “Ms., How can you be Irish? You’re white!” – A nice discussion ensued about ethnicities. Every year it is always a teaching moment.

Anyways! I was super busy yesterday and my have the times changed for how St. Patrick’s Day is celebrated once you exit college. Instead of packing into an Irish pub, I made sure the church kitchen didn’t burn down as our freshmen girls prepared green waffles for our youth program last night.

Yum! We did well.

It has always been a tradition to make irish soda bread for St. Patrick’s Day and this tradition has continued throughout college and even in moving. I always stop to make time to make irish soda bread, even if it is a day late.

Starting with little Kerry

I’m pretty sure this is one of my favorite kiddie photos. I made a mess, then I’d leave.

So when I began to make it this evening, I consulted with the powers that be to make sure I didn’t have any fatal mistakes.

And bam! I did well.

I guess more has changed. I can’t be my younger self and make a mess, then leave. I have to clean up my own mess.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

