Spectating weekend 2 of 2

A year ago, I ran the Inaugural Oakland Half Marathon and had a blast! I had already started this blog and only had it up and running for about 2 months. I cannot tell you how much I love the spirit that the Oakland Marathon brings to the city.

I had such an enjoyable weekend watching and cheering on my friends. Although I wished I could have participated, I also embraced the fact that I was a spectator, being a familiar, friendly face they knew during the race. I always look for and get an extra push of motivation once I see someone I know when running.

I cannot believe the convenience of this race. I admit that it is probably a hassle for people NOT spectating or running, but for someone who lives fairly close to lots of look-out points, it made for a really easy day. I slept in (a plus), drove and parked my car near lakeshore (4 minutes, another plus!), and walked over to grab a tea (another major plus!). I decided to station myself around the 11 mile mark/23 mile mark.

Lots of amazing individuals that I told I would be there! And I timed it right so that I knew around when I would start seeing them. I picked a spot where not too many spectators were standing so it wouldn’t be difficult to miss me. Then I started snapping pictures 🙂 What I loved most about this race is that I got to hang out with, watch, and cheer on people from all venues of my life – running club friends, friends I’ve met through blogging, very good friendships I’ve developed through Church.

Friends, Nick and John

Kristin and Steven

Lauren and Stephanie (above) who I met and have supported me since my first running endeavor here in the Bay.

Friends, Monica and Annie

Naomi

Tara and Danica

I also got to hang out with Aron (but don’t have a photo of! boooo).

And one of the best parts was that the rain held up for us!! Congrats on finishing the race!

This entry was posted in Social. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Spectating weekend 2 of 2

  1. so fun. i heard it was a great race. unlike la the weekend before. 🙂 i haven’t been a spectator yet… i really want to, when i know some people running!

  2. Naomi says:

    you were my motivation. i couldn’t wait to get to mile 11 to see you; it was just the pick-me-up that i needed! thank you for coming out to support us!

  3. Pingback: San Francisco Half Marathon | Running on Faith

Leave a Reply

