Positive spin

Yesterday, I was in San Francisco for a job interview. That’s how I had the pleasure of running through this…

I had come across a job opportunity that aligns to what I want to do with my in-between year – Physical Therapy Aide. It will allow me to get my observation hours for PT school and also get paid! Not to mention the tremendous learning opportunity. Score.

However, one caveat is my availability. With teaching so close, I decided to give this one a long shot and hope that something could be worked out until I was done with teaching. I have a personal connection with this clinic and despite having a fantastic interview, they were in need of a daytime employee to begin ASAP. I was bummed 😦  It became apparent to me that the other applicants in the room did not have a current full-time job and had that going for them. Without trying to feel discouraged, I proceeded with my interview with the hopes that I’d leave an impression.

When the interview finished, the interaction was great, but I knew it would not work out for the time being. They encouraged applying again in the middle of the summer when current aides go off to PT school and my availability would be much better.

I have to admit that I was really excited about this and would be lying if I wasn’t disappointed. Then again, who did I think I was? Trying to make it work with a month left of school?

I’d like to think I am a multi-tasker – but being in two places at once was not going to be possible. At any rate, it was good experience to interview, speak with people who know a lot more about Physical Therapy then I do, and think clearly about why I am making this career move.

I know there is better timing for another job around the corner –  a possible better opportunity – that is waiting for me. It is hard to realize that now when you built it up so much in your mind, ya know? So I sat and moped for the evening, ate fro-yo, then proceeded to move on.

The weekend is near. Until then, I will think of…

Derby pie from Saturday

C.R.E.A.M. from Berkeley

My first Mint Julep

Pretty flowers

and my newly washed car 🙂

Do you find difficulty accepting setbacks? How do you make a positive spin?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Positive spin

  1. Kristy says:

    It was good experience to do the interview and make connections, as you said. There is no experience that is a bad experience when it comes to work!

    I do the same thing you do with setbacks…allow myself to mope (get it out of my system) and then move on. You can’t let it ruin too much of your day. There is always a silver lining!

  2. Thanks, Kristy. I am not a fan of when I let things get to me longer than they should, but it is also good to get everything out then move on instead of acting like it didn’t phase you when it did.

Leave a Reply

