Week 4, Phase 1: San Francisco Half Marathon

Monday – 3 miles, Lafayette Reservoir, 10:15 min/mile

This run was hilly, raining, and not going to lie – difficult. I was hoping for an easy run, but was greeted with my calf issues.

Tuesday – Workout B and 5 miles, Lululemon Running Group, 9:29 min/mile

I got up for an AM lifting session in which I conquered the 50 lb squat. I was so excited for that. I am also excited to see what a few months of consistent push-ups can do for me 🙂

After Monday’s run, I was surprised to see that my legs had some 9 minute miles in there as we conquered the same route that we went on last week – starting at the Lululemon store and heading north to the Lafayette Moraga trail. The first 2.5 are a gradual uphill, while the 2.5 are gradual downhill. This run felt great and natural as I chatted with Aron for the second half of it.

Now for the sad part… Wednesday I woke up sick with a sore throat. It continued into Thursday – Sunday, posing as a sore throat and congestion. I had planned out two rest days (Wed and Sun), but was disappointed when Thurs. – Saturday were flops. I needed to listen to my body and I knew that there was a lot of stress I put on myself to finish strong with my psychology final. The last thing I wanted was to get even sicker.

I was a little nervous for taking so many days off because I was finishing up Phase I of Daniel’s plan. My nerves were calmed when I went out to run 5 miles yesterday and 5 miles today holding a 9:45 min/mile for each.

Am I the only one who battles the case of the crazies when taking so many days off because of being sick??

…On to Phase II!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

