A new chapter

You know the occasions and happenings in your life that you anticipate with so much excitement that you do not even know where to start to write about???

I am at that point.

Friday the 17th ended my time as a classroom teacher.

I started my new job the following Monday.

In an ideal world, I would have had a little break thrown in the middle, but due to how difficult it is to find a full-time benefitted job these days, I took what I could.

I am sure in the next few weeks I will write a very sentimental, Kerry-like post about teaching and how it has impacted me yadayadayada, but for now all I have to say is

“Holy crap. I’m free.”

It has not hit me yet that I no longer have crazy Sundays, dreams about forgetting things, or have to worry as much about getting to bed at a specific time.

[Side note: I appreciate all teachers. I respect them highly because they have a drive and are wired in a way for education that I admit am not.]

I feel like I came out of a tunnel that lasted three years and suddenly see life differently. There is no comparison.

In fact, I spent a few hours today meeting some amazing other runner/bloggers in the area. I am pretty sure I could not stop talking about my job. I took a breathe from talking about my job when we talked about running, of course.

Although my business is at an extreme between work, studying, and classes, there is a difference between being busy and being stressed out. Combine the two and I give you what was teaching for me.

For example, I will spend the rest of my afternoon studying for the GRE. While we all grimace at the thought of that, I shrug my shoulders and do what I have to do. At least it isn’t grading or planning.

I will have a summary post of my last two weeks of training for SF Half, but I wanted to check in and say that I LOVE MY NEW JOB!

I am a Physical Therapy Aide at a Sport and Spine Physical Therapy office in Marin (reverse commute for those whose eyes lit up). What that entails is performing some treatments authorized by the physical therapist such as Electric Stimulation, Ultrasounds, and Traction. As I learn the ropes more, I will be able to assist with the exercise programs that the patients are prescribed. For each patient, I am learning their situation and the treatment the physical therapist is following. For someone who is enthralled by all of this information, I am picking up new information and making connections all day. Plus, I get to wear sneakers all day and am surrounded by all these devices to stretch and relax muscles 🙂

I foresee more posts surrounding my job and information that everyone, not only runners/athletes, can use to relieve pain! I am so excited to write about this new chapter of my life and all the things I can share with you.

Apologies for rambling – I am just so happy and have lots to say! How is everyone doing? Hope all’s well.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A new chapter

  1. So great to hear that you are happy right now! I can feel your energy through your words. 🙂 Seriously. Glad you love your job…really does make all the difference in the world to be doing what you love.

  2. Beth says:

    Your energy and excitement today was so infectious! I think we all knew that you were totally thrilled with what you were doing in your new job. You can’t help but be thrilled for someone who is so happy with what they’re doing! Glad it’s all working out for you 🙂

  3. woohoo kerry!!! I’m SO happy for you. It sounds/seems like you’re in an awesome place! I can’t wait to hear more about it as the new job and career track progress 🙂

  4. Audrey says:

    So great meeting you today! I’m so excited to hear about the passion you have for your new career – good for you! 😀

  5. Naomi says:

    i’m so excited for you and your new career! it was so good to see you again – next time i hope we get to chat more!

  6. Morgan says:

    How exciting! I’ve been in PT for a month now and I’m really starting to think about going to school to be an assistant. I think it would be so inspiring to help people overcome such huge obstacles with their bodies to get back to 100% again. Best of luck in your new endeavors!!!

Leave a Reply

