Moving in the right direction

“Apprenticeship Personal Trainer”.

It consists of 8 Saturdays of hands-on learning of personal training techniques, the ability to work under a master trainer and train clients, and at the end of the 8 weeks take your NASM – National Academy of Sports Medicine – certified personal training exam. The gym holding the training hires a small amount of their trainees, but will offer a letter of recommendation if you successfully complete the program.

That is how I have been spending a fraction of my Saturdays since the beginning of June.

My mind is overloaded with all things training in the past month. And it’s been awesome.

Simply, it reaffirms all that I was wondering when I was in the process of making decisions a few months ago up until I began taking the class [and working my job]. And that affirmation is that I am moving in the right direction.

Do I expect to become a personal trainer as a lifelong profession? Well, I hope to use it as a component of what I want to do. The reality is that there is a large fraction of people who need the advice that a physical therapist delivers, but for a ton of reasons do not have access to that advice or do not know how to (1) interpret or (2) apply that information.

It is a dream (but a slow shift to reality) to be a dispenser of that advice in whatever capacity I feel I can do so.

The dream: To keep others healthy, pain-free, and limit preventable disease. 

So, mid to late August I should be taking my NASM certification exam and with all the information I am gathering from my Physical Therapy Aide position,  *might* be able to start making that dream a reality sooner than I thought.

In other news, I officially activated my account to begin my physical therapy graduate school application! Yeah!!

In other other news, I nailed both key workouts this week and three strength training. I’ll recap on Sunday!

  • 7 mile tempo – 1 easy, 2 tempo, 1 easy, 2 tempo, 1 easy
  • 3 x 2000 intervals

I have two weeks to the GREs. Any advice would be appreciated for those who took it.

Have a fabulous weekend.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Moving in the right direction

  1. kerry you are a rockstar! I wish I knew what I wanted to be when I grow up 🙂 so excited to see everything that’s in store for you.

Leave a Reply

